The Synopsis: Is the Dread All in My Head?

April 1, 2011

I’m taking an online workshop on writing a synopsis. Something had to be done. I have myself so psyched out of writing a synopsis that I actually sweat when I THINK about it.

How did this happen?

Coming from non-fiction writing, I’m used to writing proposals and pitches. Condensing article-length ideas into a paragraph or two was critical to my success. I can’t figure out why it’s different now.

I’ve tried “talking” the synopsis and then typing what I say. I’ve tried “a chapter a paragraph.” I’ve tried writing without judgement, and I still stare at a blank page.

I have a manuscript polished and ready to go, but the dang synopsis is holding me back. My class starts today, and I’m expecting big things. In the meantime if you have any advice, I’d appreciate it.

2 Responses to “The Synopsis: Is the Dread All in My Head?”

  1. Tari Says:

    Good Luck with your class!! Let me know how you like it,,,


  2. Thanks, Tari. I will keep you posted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

