Synopsis-phobia: Have I Found the Cure?

April 5, 2011

The assignment for Lesson One of my synopsis class is complete. I won’t tell you exactly what it is, because that would be unfair to the instructor. But suffice it to say, I’m a bit surprised by how one simple assignment can change my way of looking at things—things being synopses.

Oh I’m sure the sample synopsis I just submitted for my class’s evaluation sucks. One can’t expect to change THAT dramatically overnight, but still…wait for it…I’m excited to write the next synopsis. I feel like I have direction and purpose and a successful precedent (even if that precedent does suck), because folks, this is the first synopsis I have finished in under five pages (three to be exact) without feeling like I’ve left out key plot points and character descriptions.

Do you know what this means? Do you? It means it’s possible to write a synopsis without being heavily medicated or numbed by wine. It means it’s possible I’ve been over thinking this synopsis thing all along. It means there’s hope for me—and if there’s hope for me, there’s hope for you.

And all of this gained after little old Lesson One.

Bring on Lesson Two. And while I’m at it, I think I’ll check out some more online writing courses. (I’ve taken “Before You Hit Send” with Carina Press’s Angela James. Loved it!) Anyone have other suggestions?

2 Responses to “Synopsis-phobia: Have I Found the Cure?”

  1. Tari Says:

    I also dread the Synopsis. I’m very excited to hear how your class continues, I may have to take it as well!! I’ll be at RT on Friday and one of the workshops I’m doing is on the Synopsis. In the meantime, I’m spending this week trying to come up with one to tweek on Friday….aaaaahhhh! I’ll stay tuned for more about your class!!


  2. Oooh! Wish I was going to RT. Have fun and learn lots. 🙂

Leave a Reply

