Writer’s Rush: When a New Idea Takes Your Breath Away

April 7, 2011

I was minding my own business, loading the dishwasher when there he was…sitting three rows off the field, baseball cap pulled low. He wore a white dress shirt rolled over his elbows and stretched a long tanned arm—sporting a hefty timepiece—across the back of the seat beside him where a little boy with the same sandy hair sat. The man turned, and I could see his face, the shadow of stubble across his very fine jaw, the strong lines of his very fine lips.

My heart stopped, and I grabbed the kitchen counter for balance. As the rush passed, I smiled, because I knew I’d found another hero.

This time, I call him S.A.M. (sexy alpha male).

Meeting characters this way isn’t always convenient. I zone out for several seconds as I cull information from the scenes and conversations in my head. It’s happened in the checkout line, on the treadmill, while I’m driving and smack dab in the middle of conversations with family and friends.

I try not to explain myself, because frankly what am I to say? “I just met the most amazing guy…in my head. I’m going to ask him to meet me for coffee so I can learn more about him.” I’m pretty certain a hundred years or so ago they put people in straightjackets for saying things like that.

As far as heroes go, and befitting of his alpha label, S.A.M. is very demanding. He keeps butting into my current story trying to hurry me along. It was fairly easy to ignore him until last night, when S.A.M.’s heroine showed up while I was walking on the treadmill. By the two-mile mark, I knew their story.

I’m three-fourths through my current WIP. I hit a slow patch when the story swerved. But now that S.A.M and his woman (archaic way to refer to her, I know, but he IS an alpha male) are both badgering my brain, I need to work steady so I can finish WIP and indulge in the rush all over again.

: dreamy sigh : I love what I do!

4 Responses to “Writer’s Rush: When a New Idea Takes Your Breath Away”

  1. Edward Drake Says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I’ve been in the middle of a football game, biking to work or trying to sleep at night and suddenly ideas, characters, settings and entire conversations will appear in my head. The worst is when doing the washing up – very difficult to hurry and get a pen and paper when hands are soaking wet!
    What type of story is it you’re working on at the minute then?

    http://www.edwarddrakefiction.wordpress.com/


    • Yes! Oh, I’ve so been there. I keep my iPhone near the shower, listening to music, and I can’t tell you how many times I’m drying off my phone after typing ideas.

      I’m writing a contemporary, category romance. That’s usually what I write. I do dabble in single title, but always contemporary. I’ve had YA characters and ideas pop into my head, but I’m a firm believer in writing what I read. I’ve only read a couple YA novels (Read My Lips and Jane), so I don’t feel comfortable exploring that type of story.

  2. Tari Says:

    It’s so good to hear that I’m not insane! I think only other writer’s can understand these things. The character’s in our heads who compel us to let them out. The stories that they use us to tell. With my first book, I thought my poor husband would have me committed…he was pretty sure I was possessed, now he calls my character’s by name, and asks questions about their lives as if they were real, because he knows that they are…in MY head.

    Have fun with WIP looking forward to hearing more about sexy SAM and his lady…..


  3. Your husband is wonderful, Tari. (Not that mine isn’t.) I’m a bit flaky to begin with–I had reiki done on my cat. And my husband is highly scientific, so I think he’s mesmerized by me, but he doesn’t understand or encourage my possible mental health issues. LOL!

    I do love the Internet, because connecting with other writers who get the way I think makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

    I like to say that I write because if I didn’t, all the voices in my head would just mean I’m crazy. 😉

Leave a Reply

