Where do you write?

May 2, 2011

So it’s Monday morning, a beautiful sunny day, following a beautiful sunny weekend. After a year and a half without summer (well, it felt like we didn’t have summer last year!) what I really want to do is go back to the beach where my husband and I spent the day yesterday.

I can justify it. My heroine lives and works in Hermosa Beach. She would be running on the beach, clearing her head, and getting ready to start her day right now. Would she run into her hunky adversary while working out on the beach? Would she see him catching some waves on a long board today? Is today a good day for her to meet with girlfriends for lunch? Hmmm, it’s Monday, she definitely has to work…lucky for her, she works at the beach.

And lucky for me, I can put on sunscreen, a sundress and sandals, grab a pen and my notebook, and work at the beach with her…

I’m starting a new chapter today. I wonder if writing at the beach as opposed to writing at my desk will change where the story goes. I’ve never really thought about whether changing my writing location changes the story I write. Maybe slightly, but I’d be surprised if it changes the story very much…once I begin writing, I’m lost in the world in my head, and my own surroundings barely exist. My family has been known to tell callers I’ve left the country because I don’t hear the phone or the doorbell when they ring.

So now that I’ve justified heading for the beach (I think I’ll take Kathy Lyons’ Blaze novel Taking Care of Business with me in case I just need to read.) where do you like to write? Do you do your best writing at your desk? At your local Starbucks? Or are you like me…anywhere you have a pen and paper, you’re writing?

2 Responses to “Where do you write?”


  1. I’m so jealous, Tari. All it does is rain here! I hope your day was productive.

  2. Tari Says:

    Thanks Elley…we’ve had an unusual amount of rain here, I’m so glad to enjoy some warm weather. I did get about 1000 words written today, not as much as I’d hoped, but okay.

Leave a Reply

