Inspiration for Writers: Dream Big and Bold

May 13, 2011

I’ve seen dreams come true. Big dreams. Bold dreams. The kind of dreams that start off with, “I wish I could…” or “If I could do it over again, I would…”

I’ve seen the people I love make gut wrenching decisions to train another grueling year or return for more post graduate education or travel far away (and often) from their family in pursuit of their personal/professional glories. And it’s never easy, but they do it.

They do it, because they had a dream.

Dreams start out wispy, cloudy. They consist of random images flickering in our heads. Many dreams stay that way, but some grow in clarity and emotion. Those dreams wrap around our hearts and invade our thinking. They become so vivid we swear they’re real.

Those are the dreams with the power to come true.

We can’t achieve if we don’t know what we’re after. Wispy, cloudy goals remain elusive, but the vivid ones hold promise.

So what are we striving for? To be writers? The minute we put paper to pen or type out words on the keyboard, we are writers.

Dream bigger.

To be a published writers? In what genre? What length? Will we be satisfied to be published in something that doesn’t hold our hearts?

Dream sharper.

To be published ________ writers? (Fill in the blank.) And then we ask ourselves, is it enough to be published once, twice? Do we have markers for success? Money? Sales numbers? Book signings? Best-seller lists?

Dream on.

While we write, work, rewrite and rework. While we fall, fail, stand again and soar.

It’s not easy. It wasn’t meant to be. Dreams make us into the people we were meant to be. Sometimes we have a long way to go before we get there. But we can get there…

If we dream big and bold.

5 Responses to “Inspiration for Writers: Dream Big and Bold”

  1. Annie Elizabeth Says:

    i’m 18 and i’m writing a novel. this is quite inspiring. thank you so much!!


    • Annie, good for you! And you’re welcome. I have three kids of my own, and I hope when they’re 18 they are bold enough to pursue their dreams…just like you are. 🙂

      Is it a YA novel? What’s the genre? I’d love to know if you feel like sharing.

      Elley


  2. I appreciate what you are writing here. My desires to write kept coming through my dreams and continue to do so. Now I have given up my daytime job to really give it a go. Thank you for the inspiration. And please keep dreaming 🙂

  3. taristhread Says:

    Hi Elley, yep, there’s always a bigger dream! All I wanted was to be published, but when I wrote that first newspaper column I wasn’t satisfied, then newspaper articles weren’t enough. I put my dreams aside, to homeschool boys, but as they got older and I told them to follow their dreams, my own resurfaced. So here I am following my dreams, I hope I never run out of dreams to follow, following your dreams makes life more interesting!

Leave a Reply

