I am a Writer: Meet Nicole Helm

May 18, 2011

Name and/or Pen Name:Nicole Helm

Nicole Helm

Nicole Helm

Blog/web site/twitter: nicolehelm.wordpress.com, @nicolethelm

Where I write: At the kitchen counter, which is where my laptop is plugged in.

What I write: Contemporary Romance

Worst rejection: I was so spoiled with my first rejection, which was a revise & resubmit, that when my next rejection was a form email with no explanation, that was probably the hardest. After getting such great feedback on the first, it was kind of a blow to know this other publisher didn’t see anything worthwhile in a novel I thought was stronger than the R&R one. Of course, looking back, they were kind of right…

Best rejection: My first. I took part in the Mills & Boon Medical Fast Track in August and I sent in a full manuscript. Not only was the feedback quick, but the editor had obviously read the entire novel, which felt like a feat within it of itself. Then, even though she said it wasn’t quite suitable at the time, she gave very specific feedback on what could be changed and encouraged me to submit again. At the time, that was hard to hear, but now that I’ve had way worse rejections, I really appreciate the time the editor took to read and give feedback on my entire novel. And I’m still waiting to hear back on that revised partial, so we’ll see what happens.

What keeps me writing:  It’s a compulsion. I have taken breaks from writing before, but they never last long. Writing is just something I’ve always done and will always do. I keep writing because it makes me happy. Even my husband notices I am happier when I spend a large portion of my day writing. It is that love and enjoyment above all else that keeps me writing. Everything else is secondary. Sometimes I get all depressed about never getting published, but I still write. It’s just…a part of me.

I am a writer: I have always been a writer…for as long as I can remember. There have always been people in my head, and it sounds a lot less crazy if you’re a writer. It’s only been in the last two years that I’ve really focused on a genre and set about getting published, but for years and years before that I was writing, because it’s the way I perceive the world and make sense of what I think and feel. Even if I never get published, I have to write. And like I said above, it makes me happy. For me, that’s the most important thing.

***

[We’d like to thank Nicole for sharing with us. If you’re an unpublished romance writer who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

8 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Nicole Helm”


  1. […] I was interviewed today over at From Fact To Fiction, so you should go take a look! This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink. […]

  2. Stacy Says:

    Your story is such a good one. With all the self-publishing craze, I keep thinking I still want to at least try the traditional way, and that if I get any kind of in-depth response, that’s a win.


  3. Hi, Nicole!

    Thanks for sharing your story with us. We look forward to following your career and celebrating your first publication. 🙂

    E

  4. Kiru Taye Says:

    Hi Nicole,

    It’s great to meet another aspiring author and interesting that we are driven by similar things. I look forward to reading your books when they’re published.

    Keep writing.

    Kiru.

  5. Joanne Robinson Says:

    Hi Nicole, reading your blurb helped me to bite the bullet and submit mine…. looking forward to reading your books


  6. […] and more love and romance, of course. We’ve met other aspiring romance writers—a wave to Nicole Helm, Joanne Robinson, Helen Bennett, Doris O’Connor, Cherie Nicholls, and Karin Blaine. And when we […]


  7. […] in May I was featured in the I am a Writer post here at From Fact to Fiction. That same week I queried one of my novels to the Wild Rose Press. A […]


  8. […] About a year ago, before I became a contributer to From Fact to Fiction, Elley asked me to be the first participant in Writer Wednesday. […]

Leave a Reply

