I am a Writer: Meet Raven McAllan

May 25, 2011

Raven McAllan

Raven McAllan

Name and/or Pen Name: *Raven McAllan

Blog/web site/twitter: ravenmcallanauthor.weebly.com, @RavenMcAllan

Where I write: Anywhere I can sit. I am at last the proud owner of a MacBook Air, since lovely hubby got fed up of my “this lap top is slow, old and heavy” and “it hurts to sit at the desk top.”

What I write: Anything romance-y: historical, mystery, contemporary, m/m and even a historical f/f/m. I’m having fun seeing what I can do.

Worst rejection: “Sorry not suitable.” When I asked very politely why, I was assured they would get back to me. Waiting… I accept it might not be any good, but please, please tell me why. Even if it’s a “badly written unbelievable plot, cardboard character and terrible grammar” rejection, I want to get better. Of course finding something nice in a rejection is good as well.

Best rejection: The first in this bout of writing from Harlequin Historical Undone with a specific “next time you submit, please remember the following…” and things to follow. Really helpful. I haven’t re-submitted yet, but I will. Also someone who took the time to give me a few specifics where I’d gone wrong. I didn’t necessarily agree, but it helped to show me something editors may not like.

What keeps me writing: Compulsion. A day without writing is like a day without food. I have fibromyalgia and can only type in short bursts. I am getting very good at plotting in my head and remembering it. I have always scribbled, although after two rejections in a few years and a lot of years ago have only started seriously since I’ve not been able to work. It’s a life line. Also I have a burning desire to do better than something I have read and thought, “I could do that.”

I am a writer: I can’t imagine not being one. Even as a child I wrote. I’ve always had a vivid imagination. (According to one teacher, too vivid!) As an only child, writing meant I was never lonely. I could play with my imaginary friends. Even though as yet unpublished, I have faith in me. Ok, it wavers when a big “R” comes in for something I thought was good…but hey ho. One day!

***

[We’d like to thank Raven for sharing with us. If you’re an unpublished romance writer who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

*Editor’s Note: Raven is no longer an unpublished author! On October 7, 2011, her debut novel, Wallflowers Don’t Wilt, became available from Breathless Press.

9 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Raven McAllan”

  1. Kiru Taye Says:

    It’s great to see you on here Joanne. Keep writing. I certainly enjoying reading your stories.

  2. Doris O'Connor Says:

    I didn’t know you were an only child like me! Something else we have in common 😉

    Def keep writing, I love your stuff!

  3. Joanne Robinson Says:

    er Elley.. which quote ? all i get is i agree tho !

  4. Liz Black Says:

    Keep writing Joanne – well done on your success so far. Look forward to seeing your books on the shelf!


  5. I think that ability to keep working toward your goal despite discouragements will serve you well. This is a difficult industry and half the battle is being able to cope with those challenges. Good luck!

  6. Summer Says:

    Good to know you’re keeping up the effort despite your problems. Things worthwhile are never easy to get. Wish you success!


  7. […] love and romance, of course. We’ve met other aspiring romance writers—a wave to Nicole Helm, Joanne Robinson, Helen Bennett, Doris O’Connor, Cherie Nicholls, and Karin Blaine. And when we managed to write […]

Leave a Reply

