I am a Writer: Meet Cherie Nicholls

June 22, 2011

Cherie Nicholls

Cherie Nicholls

Name and/or Pen Name: Cherie Nicholls

Blog/web site/twitter: cherie-ramblingsoapbox.blogspot.com,
thenuthousescribblers.blogspot.com, @cherienicholls

Where I write: I write where I can and when I can. Mostly sitting on the sofa with my trusty old laptop. But as I work full time, not as a writer unfortunately, I don’t get to write as much as I would like. So if I am not at home I will try to write during my lunch break…which is never a good idea!

What I write: Paranormal Romances

Worst rejection: You are assuming that I have been brave enough to send my work to professionals who will then point and laugh at me…

Best rejection: On the plus side I am hoping to submit to an open call for shifter stories soon and I have heard they do really nice rejections…*all about the positive thinking me!*

What keeps me writing: I write because I can see things most non-writers don’t see, not in an “I see dead people” way, I hasten to add. You see, it could be something so simply like a woman drops her umbrella and a passing man stops to pick it up before carrying on with his journey. Now most people would barely pay attention to that, if they saw it at all, but I would see a story—a woman, possibly a shifter, a man definitely a shifter, meeting their life mate and all the fun that would follow as they learnt more about each other from that one simple incident. I think most writers have this or something similar, where a piece of music, an advert or a partially overheard conversation can spark that creativity and a story is born.

Why do I write? How can I not write with all those stories out there waiting to be told!?

I am a writer because…simply if I didn’t tell my character’s story then who would?

***

[We’d like to thank Cherie for sharing with us. If you’re an unpublished romance writer (straight romance or strong romantic elements) who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

8 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Cherie Nicholls”

  1. Kiru Taye Says:

    A fab post, Cherie. You are definitely right about seeing potentially new stories in ordinary daily life activities. I get new ideas from the oddest places.
    Good luck with your submission. :o))


  2. Bravo for being brave enough to submit your book. It’s certainly exciting to hit send. Fingers crossed for you.


  3. How true, inspiration strikes out of nowhere 🙂


  4. Cherie, I love your answer to “What keeps me writing?” I can so relate. Just got home from the grocery store where I watched two filthy, hot landscapers oogling a 20-something woman in tight jeans and a tank top. I don’t know if anyone else caught the glances between the guys, but I did, and boy could I image some scenarios there. LOL!

    Thanks again for participating in Writer Wednesday.

    Elley

  5. Erika Says:

    Keep up the good work and keep the imagination going!

  6. Cherie Nicholls Says:

    Thanks Guys! 😀


  7. […] aspiring romance writers—a wave to Nicole Helm, Joanne Robinson, Helen Bennett, Doris O’Connor, Cherie Nicholls, and Karin Blaine. And when we managed to write something that struck a chord we heard from more of […]


  8. […] profiled on Writers Wednesday was exciting! I sent the link to everyone I could think of! But since then things have gone from better to better. I have now […]

Leave a Reply

