Celebrating 100!

July 29, 2011

After years of setting aside my dreams of writing fiction, in January I started to think seriously about writing again. Actually, I started thinking about getting a “real job,” and my husband pushed me to pick up my pen and start a fresh page. I began lurking around different writing sites, and in February I met Elley on the eHarlequin.com forums. It was Elley’s idea to create a new blog, former non-fiction writers on the journey to becoming fiction writers, and by the end of February, From Fact to Fiction was launched.

This is our 100th blog post, and I’d like to raise a glass and toast. Thank you, Elley for starting this! In these 100 posts, we’ve talked about brainstorming, organization, plotting…or not plotting, love and romance, writer’s groups, Stuart Smalley, heroines who are TSTL, technology, more love and romance, the dreaded synopsis, our inspiration and more love and romance, of course. We’ve met other aspiring romance writers—a wave to Nicole Helm, Joanne Robinson, Helen Bennett, Doris O’Connor, Cherie Nicholls, and Karin Blaine. And when we managed to write something that struck a chord we heard from more of you: KimberlyFDR, Kiru Taye, Liz Black, Julia Broadbooks, and so many others who have left comments supporting, empathizing, and giving new points of view.

During this short time (Has it only been five months?) we’ve also shared a lot of life. We’ve talked about our real romances, our kids, experienced tragedies and celebrations. Those are the things that make us who we are and form bonds between us and shape our writing.

Blogging at From Fact to Fiction reminded me how much I loved to write. It got me back in the habit of writing regularly, and by the time I finished my blog post, I didn’t want to stop writing. I wanted to write more…and I did.

So a toast to our first 100 posts and to Elley. A toast to all of the new friends we’ve made. I hope we continue to hear from you. Let us know where you are in your writing journey…and in your life. (Doris, we’re waiting patiently for news about baby Markus!) A toast to those of you who have taken the time to read what we write, and if you haven’t commented yet, we hope to hear from you as well. We’d love to post your story on a Writer’s Wednesday, so send Elley a message if you are also an aspiring writer.

Thanks to all of you, and a special thanks to Elley! I’m so glad we met and look forward to many more posts.

Tari

***Elley’s response:

I couldn’t agree more with the things Tari has written in this post. Thank you all for enriching our lives and our writing. Going forward, we have some new ideas. First, we’re going to alternate Writer Wednesday with Write Tip Wednesday, so if you feel like jotting down a few lines about what works for you when it come to writing, please send them our way. We’ll post and give you credit. Also, Friday will become Fan Friday, where Tari and I will take turns gushing about the books and authors that we adore.

Thanks from the bottom of my heart. I hope you’ll stick around for the next hundred.

Elley

6 Responses to “Celebrating 100!”

  1. Joanne Robinson Says:

    well ladies you spurred me on! first book published on October 7th by Breathless Press. Check it out.. Wallflowers Don’t Wilt.. so thanks big time!


  2. Whoo-hoo! Looks like we have some celebrating to do. And We’ll dedicate your launch week to you. We’re going to have so much fun. Congratulations, Joanne!

  3. Lara Daniels Says:

    Congratulations Ladies!!!!


  4. Yey to the 100th blog post 😀

    May there be many more! Sounds like you’re having lots of exciting things planned. Don’t worry, when Markus finally pops out (if only it was that easy!) you will me hear shouting the news from the rooftops.
    Well on twitter and face book and my blog anyway, actual rooftops may be a bit much…. 😉

  5. taristhread Says:

    Congrats Joanne!! That’s wonderful and inspiring news!!

    Doris…hope your last weeks are easy, and wishing you a healthy and fast delivery!!

  6. Dalice Trost Says:

    drinking a toast in decaf coffee! well done. I look forward to the next hundred and the inspiration they give me. xx

Leave a Reply

