Write Tip Wednesday: Set Your Own Deadlines

August 31, 2011

If you don’t have a deadline from a publisher or agent, give yourself a deadline. At an Orange County RWA meeting, Author Leanne Banks shared how she keeps on track. “I have a deadline and it’s like your mirror that says ‘objects in your mirror may be closer than they appear.’ Deadlines are always looming.”

Giving myself deadlines is working for me. I have my primary deadline, when I want the manuscript finished, but I’ve made smaller deadlines as well:

1. Ten thousand words finished by the end of March    (X)

2. First draft done by my 50th birthday                           (X)

3. First round of rewrites must be done by…oh hey, that deadline is coming up in three weeks, I better go write!

What’s your deadline?

Leave a Reply

