In the Fog of September 11

September 9, 2011

There’s a fog over my brain that won’t lift. It’s been there for a few weeks, but in the past couple days the fog has thickened. Maybe it’s the massive rewrite I’ve undertaken. Maybe it’s fall. Maybe it’s recent family upheaval. Maybe it’s dormant demons of my youth. But there’s something else too.

As we get closer to 911, I feel a collective sadness burdening my soul. So many hearts still weep for the loves they lost. I suspect if emotional energy output could be measured the United States would be drowning in a big black cloud of negative. I’m a firm believer that society’s negative energy profoundly impacts the individual. But it’s not just the people of the United States. The world changed that day due to actions and reactions.

I don’t know how to release the fog from my brain let alone combat the ugly emotions surrounding global terrorism, so I deal as best I can (mostly by writing stories with a happily ever after). I do hope that someday we can remember the devastation and lessons of September 11, 2001, but balance the sadness with thoughts of other September 11’s when joy outweighed despair.

The American media asks: How will you remember 911? I’ll spend the day doing what those who lost their lives would surely do: laugh, hug, hold hands and smile.

The biggest post-911 challenge might not be global security. It may be something less complicated but more daunting…how to put the positive back into a day that stole so much from so many.

2 Responses to “In the Fog of September 11”


  1. Ah Elley, I remember that day so clearly. We came back from the school run, switched the telly on, expecting to see kids programs and there were the burning towers. I recall standing rooted to the spot in my living room, not believing my eyes for ages. That seems like yesterday in ways. Here in the UK there have been lots of programs about 9/11 this week and I’ve watched a fair few. Still reduces me to tears 😦

    So come the day I shall hug my loved ones a little closer and say a prayer for the lives lost and the ones left behind.

  2. Eugenia Parrish Says:

    “A collective sadness burdening my soul” That so perfectly says what I’ve been trying to blog about all week that I think I’ll stop trying. And I believe you’re right — one of the hardest things will be trying to get past it.

Leave a Reply

