Better Late Than Never

October 3, 2011

Of course, the title is talking about this blog post. In a perfect world, I would have had it written and posted by noon. Heck, in a perfect world I would have a stockpile of blog posts written and waiting for WordPress to publish at 9:00 a.m. ET every weekday. But you’re right. It’s not a perfect world.

As I debated over potential blog post topics this whole idea of “better late than never” kept rolling through my head, and it jived with the old journals I’ve been leafing through since my closet got pimped last week and my journals lost their home on the top shelf. See, “better late than never” can apply to a lot of things in my life—especially writing.

Oh, I’ve been writing my whole life. (Isn’t saying something like this a requirement for all writers?) Technically, who hasn’t been writing their whole life? But I haven’t been writing as an act of passion until recently.

I know I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating. I am blessed to be attached to some pretty amazing people who have lived their passions. I’ve been intimidated by them for much of my life. I have dozens of journal entries that lament my lack of passion and how I wish I had a fire inside of me the way so-and-so does. In one particular entry, I relegate myself to the cheering section—leave the greatness to the great ones, because we can’t all be great…right? Wrong.

I feel pretty great right now. And yet, how can that be? I don’t know what it’s like to stand on a podium to thunderous applause. I’ve never broken a longstanding record. I don’t receive fan mail. (Although some of your comments do make my day.) I’ve never received a single “endorsement.” Not a single degree is worth framing. And yet I feel great because every morning I know that at some point in the day I’m going to write what I want to write. After years of writing school papers, checks, emails, non-fiction articles and other words that amounted to obligations, I’m finally writing the words and stories that I’m most passionate about. I’m following my heart…that’s the stuff that greatness is made of.

And while it took me awhile to get here, it’s better late than never.

3 Responses to “Better Late Than Never”


  1. Hey, my grandchildren are about to give me great-grandchildren and I am just now beginning to feel like my writing is coming together. A writer is someone who writes. I figure the rest is bonus!

  2. Summer Says:

    Your post is so close to my own story and really touched me because I am a person who’s professionally well-settled (I’m a doctor) but after so many years I realised what I really wanted to do is write. It was always at the back of my mind but left there like a pending activity until one day, two years ago I thought I’d take the plunge.
    It made my schedule pretty hectic but is worth every second because I know it’s what I want to do. I read somewhere you are destined to do that job for which you can even forget to eat or sleep. For me that is writing.
    Many happy writing hours to you!

Leave a Reply

