It Never Rains in Southern California

October 4, 2011

It’s pouring down rain here in Los Angeles. No ocean view from my roof top today, even if I was brave enough to go up there and look. In fact, I can only faintly see the outline of the Vincent Thomas Bridge from the window over my computer…normally, I can clearly see the bridge and the vehicles driving across it in each direction. It’s the kind of day that I want to bake cookies, either soft gooey chocolate chip cookies or buttery oatmeal cookies with golden raisins and walnuts, and curl up in front of my fireplace with a blanket and a good book. Luckily, I’ve run out of reading material (horrors) and I don’t know what I want to read yet, otherwise I would probably do exactly that.

Instead, I’m going to make myself a cup of hot tea, take my brand new little notebook computer (Thank you, hunky husband. I love my new notebook…and you!) and curl up on the sofa in front of a fire and work on edits. I finally got brave enough to ask a friend who loves to read to look at a few chapters for me, so I’m waiting on feedback and want to give her more tomorrow.

My husband bought me the notebook this weekend so that I didn’t have to write by hand when I head off to the library to write, and then come home and retype. At home I work on my PC. I have an ancient Dell Latitude that I could take, but its battery no longer holds a charge and I’d have to work on Word 98. It’s also kind of heavy to carry around.

Yesterday was my first day working at the library on my notebook. I know it sounds silly, but I could hardly wait to get up in the morning and “go to work.” I was so excited. I still had to carry the hard copy of my manuscript with notes on it, but by next week I won’t need to carry anything but my little computer.

Anyway, the rain is slowing down. I’m sure the marine layer will move out soon and it will be dry, so I think I’ll pack up my computer and head to the library…one thing about Los Angeles, the rain never lasts long. So much for writing in front of my fireplace. I just love “going to work.”

Whatever the weather where you are, I hope you’re writing…I #amwriting, and if you have any suggestions for a great read please pass them along!

2 Responses to “It Never Rains in Southern California”


  1. What a pleasant read. I woke up to the sound of gentle rain and don’t feel like doing anything or going anywhere. I love my laptop, but it’s old and the battery doesn’t last, so I have to carry the umbilical cord everywhere. I’m wondering what it would be like to write at the library (which is a place I’ve loved and have felt at home in since I was four — whatever town I was in). Then again, it’s a nice day for cookies!

  2. taristhread Says:

    Eugenia, I’m at the library right now, not the library I usually go to, but a little neighborhood library attached to a park. The sun has peaked through, but I’m sure the marine clouds will return soon. I’m so enjoying being able to work on the computer anywhere!! I will admit that it was tough to make myself write when I really did want to bake cookies…..

Leave a Reply

