Confessions of a Workshop Whore

October 12, 2011

I think I’m a workshop whore. No, get THAT image out of your head, because I’m not hiking my skirt and doing the nasty at workshops or conferences. I’m simply obsessed with online workshops, and it’s becoming a problem.

The last workshop finished less than two weeks ago. Halfway through the month-long workshop, I stopped participating (including homework). I read each lesson and assignment, hoping something would sink in, but full participation fell to the wayside as I picked up a new non-fiction writing opportunity, struggled with various fiction works in progress and paid an insignificant amount of attention to my family (shameful, really). At the close of the workshop, I told myself: Self, this is it now. You need to manage your time better, so you can finish this manuscript and spend meaningful time with your family.

Do you think Self listened? Hell no.

Here I am less than two weeks after the last workshop closed and I’ve signed up for one that starts in five days and am about to sign up for another, which won’t start for months. (Is that progress?)

Why do I do it? Well, the easy answer is because a writer should always be learning and bettering in regards to craft. But I suspect I’m using this noble excuse to cover up something more sinister. I’m procrastinating. It’s hard to write like hell when your attentions are split. And it’s hard to buckle up for the ride of rejection if you don’t have anything else finished to submit.

I don’t know what I’m going to do about this. I’d be lying if I said I was committed to stopping the whoring around, but don’t they say admitting there’s a problem is half the battle?

Leave a Reply

