Desk Check! What’s Around Your Writing Space?

October 13, 2011

I was inspired by my critique partner’s blog post to take a look at my “writing conditions.” Trust me, people. This is clean and tidy (though my husband wouldn’t agree):

 

 

My favorite things from things random collection include:

  • My laptop, of course, because it holds my writing and was an anniversary present from my hubby
  • The wooden word art sitting on the top, which reads: Once in a while, in an ordinary life, love gives us a fairytale. (This is how I feel about my marriage.)
  • The small canvas artwork to the right of my laptop, which reminds me to “Dream Big”
  • My green tea, because without it I’m a sloth
  • The remote control to my Bose system, because music is my writing muse and I need to change songs that don’t fit the current scene’s mood
  • Books I’ve read or am reading
  • Dated, but favorite family pictures

 

My least favorite things from this random collection include:

  • The bill stubs and receipts that remind me I have to balance “the book.” (I hate THAT “book.” Cripes, it’s not even a book. It’s a computer program that likes to make me feel guilty for spending too much money on shoes, fancy pillows and all sorts of other unnecessary things that make me feel so good at the time of purchase but a bit crappy when I get home.)
  • The cordless phone, because when it rings I’m tempted to pick it up and get off track
  • The chair, because it’s pretty but uncomfortable (I have to do something about this.)

 

So there you go. That’s where I work and create. It’s not always pretty, but it’s my space, and I’d be lost without it. How about you? I’d love to see where you work.

2 Responses to “Desk Check! What’s Around Your Writing Space?”

  1. nicolehelm Says:

    I took a picture for my post, but was too embarrassed to put it up. It was really quite gross. Yours is perfectly neat & tidy compared to mine!


  2. Confession: I cleaned her up a bit last night at Hubby’s insistance. But note the fat book on the top left corner. It’s his. Like he should talk about my messy desk when he’s an enabler. *eye roll*

Leave a Reply

