FANatic Friday: Tari Gushes about Susan Mallery

October 14, 2011

When I’m sitting at a cubicle in the Katy Geisert Library in Torrance, marking the hard copy of my manuscript with red pen and dreaming of getting my WIP published, it’s hard for me to imagine having more than a hundred and thirty books published. Okay, maybe I have no problem imagining it, but at the moment, it’s just a dream.

For Susan Mallery, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, and speaker at the Orange County Chapter of RWA’s 30th Birthday Bash last weekend, this is her life. Susan took an interesting path to this career. First she got her degree in accounting, and then decided what she really wanted to do was write fiction. Once she made that decision, she got to work and made it happen, selling her first book just months after she began writing.

Not only is Susan Mallery a prolific writer, but she is an intelligent, funny and very motivating speaker. She gave lots of great advice during her presentation and considering her success, I intend to follow it. Possibly the most important thing she said is this: “It is in your hands, in your power to achieve this. You just have to do the work.” In other words, if you want to be successful you have to write. Having a thousand followers on twitter is great, but are you writing your pages? Lunch with your writer friends can be good for you, but did you get your pages written? Polishing chapter one is necessary, but first write some pages.

I’m reading my autographed copy of Susan’s book Only His right now, and I can see why she is such a successful writer. Just as she is in person, Susan’s writing is intelligent, funny and engaging, and I have to tear myself away to write my pages. I think however that Susan will understand if I read slowly, because I’m taking her advice.

I’m off to write, then write and write some more. And what about you? Have you written your pages today?

Leave a Reply

