The Not So Social Life of Writers

November 3, 2011

“I’m not boring…really…I don’t spend ALL my time locked in my room writing. Sometimes I go to the library to write…and not always the same library.” — My status update this morning in response to a friend’s message saying I’ve become “anti-social”

Now she was just giving me a bad time, but the truth is I probably have become a little… well, boring if not anti-social. I get up in the morning and write…I go to the library and write…I go out to dinner with my hunky husband, Paul, and talk about my writing…and the odds are if I’m out on the weekend I’ve gone to an RWA meeting.

In the spring I decided that I needed to take my writing more seriously if I wanted my loved ones to do so, and I have, and so have they. Maybe I’ve taken it a little too far, but I have to admit that I’ve gotten a lot done and my friends and family have been very supportive. I’m not doing all of the things I normally do. We usually have friends over for dinner fairly often. I have most of my Christmas gifts bought or made by Halloween. And I decorate and bake dozens and dozens…and dozens of cookies in December.

I’m going to compromise. I’ll get out on the weekend and have lunch with my friends, I’ll have friends and family over for dinner, but it may not be fancy. I may not get the Christmas jammies sewn this year, but I will buy them. I promise to finish the Christmas shopping by Thanksgiving…and wrap the gifts. I may not bake dozens and dozens….and dozens of cookies, but I promise to at least bake dozens…

And if don’t answer my phone, you CAN hunt me down at the library…usually the one by the beach, because I try to walk on the sand before I sit down and write…

What about you? Have you managed to keep your social life healthy while fulfilling your writing dreams? Have you had to make compromises? How do you balance your writing life and your social life? Please share…I don’t want my family and friends to think I’ve become “anti-social.”

3 Responses to “The Not So Social Life of Writers”


  1. I find that sharing my writing with my friends helps – they feel included, and they know what I’ve been up to!

  2. Louisa Bacio Says:

    Yesterday, I did a write-in as part of NaNoWriMo with some local writers. There were eight of us, sitting at a table at IHop, all with a laptop in front of us. We’d take breaks and chat a little, and then one would go back to writing, and then the next. (We would all understand and not think the other “rude,”) And, we had a few writing “sprints.” Very nice atmosphere. Being with others, and still creating. Funny enough, only one other restaurant customer came over afterward, and said, “How can you all concentrate?”

Leave a Reply

