Thank You to the Real Heroes

November 11, 2011

I wanted to comment on Elley’s post about heroes yesterday. Today, Veterans Day, seemed to be the perfect day to do so. It’s sad that there are men or people that will take advantage of those younger, smaller…not as strong. As the mother of three sons, one of the things that I tried to teach them as boys is that those who are bigger and stronger have a responsibility to take care of and protect those who are smaller and not as strong. That’s what real men do, what real heroes do…what human beings do.

But my real point is that there are so many REAL heroes in our world. This is a good day to focus on them. I want to thank the real heroes that protect our country every day, the men and women in the United States Armed Forces. Thank you for being real heroes. Thank you for risking your lives every day, and thank you to those who have given their lives. Thank you to the families who have worried and supported our men and women in the service.

Thank you specifically to my late father-in-law, Frank Jewett, who served in Korea, my brothers, Max Porter and Victor Porter, uncles, Roger Harris, Daniel Stefani and Roland Crosdaile, and to all of the people who have touched my life that I may not have mentioned, as well as those of you that I’ve never met, but have served to protect our country…thank you.

Today while you are writing, consider the traits of a real hero in your life…and if there is someone that you’d like to thank, I hope you’ll consider doing so right here. Tell us about the real heroes in your life.

3 Responses to “Thank You to the Real Heroes”


  1. I’m a day late on this, but I still wanted to say we honored my father, a Vietnam vet, by taking him to lunch and then to a celebration of thanks at my daughters elementary school. It’s a very moving day if you have the opportunity to spend it with a vet or active duty military person.


  2. I’m a continent away from my greatest heroes — my two sons. One fought in Desert Storm and now is an EMT in a small town where he says the one thing that scares him is waiting to pull someone he knows out of a twisted car wreck. The other is Army Special Forces and half the time I don’t even know where he is. I grew up at a time when we protested war and threw the ROTC off the campus. I was a full-on hippy who worshipped peace. Now I have two sons who make me feel like the little mama duck who hatched a swan: How the hell did I do that?

Leave a Reply

