Writing & the Holidays

November 22, 2011

I can’t believe we’re nearing the end of November and entering the holiday season. I’ve already put up outside Christmas lights, bought some presents, and the next few days will be full of cooking and eating. The next weeks will continue with baking, buying, wrapping, decorating. With a little one around, this means that most of that has to happen during nap time. Nap time is usually writing time.

Houston, we have a problem.

This is the first December in years where I am not working outside the home. So, you’d think I’d have like all this extra not-working time, right? But, the truth is, I rarely wrote those Decembers that I worked. Also, having an almost two-year-old running around and the whole being six months pregnant thing takes up a lot of time. Sleep is a hot commodity so my former life of all-nighters isn’t an option. I have some concerns about my writing time this December. Where will it fit in, if anywhere?

So, I’m wondering, in the midst of this busy holiday season, how do you stay on track with your writing? Do you budget words per day and sacrifice whatever to get them? Do you cut yourself some slack in some area of your life? Do you have a magic pill I can take to be super efficient and awesome, and will you send one to me? Please share your holiday writing secrets!

Nicole

2 Responses to “Writing & the Holidays”


  1. Ugh! You read my mind. Honestly, I’m going to try not to expect to much. I might even decrease my expectations to #1k1hr once a workday and call me accomplished. If I leave things open, I often get more done than when I try to maintain a hard and fast schedule.


  2. I tell myself I’ll do at least a couple pages a day before everyone is up. But it’s cold out there, and so nice under the covers … anyway, my housemate/landlady keeps telling me “We need to take this down to the Christmas auction, we need to pick up something else at the store, we need to stop by the food bank [to donate, thank you, Lord]”. Like you said, it’s time to give yourself a little slack!

Leave a Reply

