Giving More Thanks

November 25, 2011

Yes, Thanksgiving is over, but if you’re anything like my family you celebrate Thanksgiving all weekend long. We kind of have to if we want to include everyone, you see. Every year I have been married to my husband (and most of the years we were together before that) my husband has always had to work on Thanksgiving. And I don’t mean a few hours, or long after everyone has gone to sleep. I mean a twelve-hour shift for the entire Thanksgiving day.

So, yesterday as my son and I spent the day with my Mom and sisters, I was reminded to be grateful for the people that give up their holidays every year regardless of what time stores open on Black Friday, etc. Police officers, nurses, doctors, hospital staff, firefighters, and I’m sure more civil servants who routinely have to miss holidays with their families to help others (Military, who not only miss part of the holiday, but miss the entire holiday in foreign places).

It should be no surprise that many of these professions are represented heavily in romance.

Nicole

One Response to “Giving More Thanks”


  1. “It should be no surprise that many of these professions are represented heavily in romance.”

    Hey, I never thought of it that way. Good point! Heroes are heroes, and we like our real life ones in our romances too. I wonder if they realize how often they score a tribute in romance novels. Maybe I’ll pack up a few and take them to the nearest fire station and cop shop.

Leave a Reply

