So I’m Technologically Impaired

December 14, 2011

Well, it finally happened. Last week my computer crashed, and I mean crashed. In fact, I totally flaked on my Friday blog post because of it.  Hunky Hubby couldn’t take it anymore. He bought me a new computer. Now it’s not that I didn’t want a new computer, it’s just that…in case you haven’t noticed, I’m a little technologically challenged. The problem is, that I wanted a new computer from 1998. Hunky Hubby likens me to the “little old man” in the old Saturday Night Live Episodes.  “When I was growing up we wrote with a stick in the sand, and we liked it like that!”

But seriously, I’ve been working on the same computer for ten years. (I know you’re laughing. I can live with that) In fact, I’ve been working on…I’ll just say it…Word ’98. Yes, I said that out loud, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I didn’t want a new computer because this would mean that I had to learn new software, among other things.

So to prove my point, this morning I got up to write my blog at 6 a.m. Los Angeles time. It’s now 7 a.m. and I’ve finally figured out how to open a new document in Word. Okay, I didn’t really figure it out; in fact, I had given up and started to write my blog in an e-mail to Elley. (I know you’re laughing, Elley. It’s okay. I can live with that too!) Well, what else could I do? My Hunky Hubby is gone, and I thought both of my sons had left for school. Then suddenly I realized my youngest son, Joey, was still in his room. I was saved. Once he stopped laughing at me…again, I can live with this. Joey was able to show me how to get into Word and open a new document. Yay!! And, thank you, Joey. If it makes you laugh the rest of the day thinking about it, I can live with that too!

So here I am, typing away on my new keyboard, knowing full well that when Joey leaves in about 15 minutes, I’m S.O.L. You know, I have to admit this new keyboard is really cool, I like the way it feels as I type. Sorry, where was I? Oh yeah.

Hopefully, I can figure out how to transfer my document files containing my book from my flash drive to my new computer. Anyone know where the flash drive is supposed to go? Just a minute, I need to grab Joey before he leaves!

Yes, I actually did back up my files on a flash drive. I also e-mailed them to myself “just in case.”  Not like I didn’t know my computer was about to blow after all.

So this week I’ve got a sharp learning curve. Luckily all my guys, this includes Hunky Hubby, three sons, and two stunt double sons, are much more technologically inclined than I am and will be able to help. In fact, the two stunt double sons (Hi, John & Chris…oh, and I’ll include my cousin, Frank, in this too…Hi, Frank!) who have all helped keep my old Celuron (no one seems to know how to spell this, and they don’t remember what it means) computer running through numerous viruses, and shall we call them “slow periods,” will probably be relieved that all they have to do is teach me a few new tricks as opposed to reviving my old computer …yet again. Hunky Hubby said this was the end, that the computer had signed a “do not resuscitate” order, and there was nothing he could do.

So laugh at me if you will. I miss my old Olivetti typewriter with 500 character memory and automatic correction…at least I knew how to use it…wow, I really do like this keyboard…

I’ll just be sitting here trying to figure out this new-fangled Word program and reminiscing about “the good old days,” when I read by the light of a gas lamp. (This is true, but I won’t explain right now.)

So next week, I’ll tell you about the OCCRWA meeting where I was “pinned” as a PRO. Yay! And Louisa Bacio’s fabulous presentation on writing query letters. It really was good, but how will you know that if I don’t tell you? Well, unless you were there of course…

So anyway, I think I’ll grab a pen and paper, because that’s the way I really like to write, and I’ll figure out this contraption later.

Happy writing!

Tari

5 Responses to “So I’m Technologically Impaired”


  1. I’m not laughing, just smiling at the thought of you sitting there wondering where the hell to begin. We’ve all been there. Heck, it’s the reason I still don’t have a Mac. Learning something new is not appealling this close to 40. 🙂


  2. I’m going to let the remark about “this close to 40” go….. 🙂 (and the fact that you know how to put real smiley faces up)


  3. Ah bless you. Technology has its moments that’s for sure 🙂

    I am giggling, cause at any given time that can be me. Should have seen me when I got word 2010. Oh my, the air was blue and unfortunately my hunky hubby is even more clueless than me…

    So, my first edits were like *scratch head, errr nice editor, how do I do xyz*

    Thankfully she had a great sense of humour and talked me through it. Phew 😉


  4. Doris, So glad I’m not alone!!

  5. rosellezubey Says:

    Hi Tari-I think I can relate to what you’re saying about being somewhat technologically challenged. I remember I was slowly being driven crazy when I was trying to learn Microsoft Word back in the mid to late 1990’s. Microsoft Word always seemed to have a mind of it’s own and I was under the gun writing papers for my college classes. But I think I can offer you encouragement when I say that if you keep at it, you can learn the Microsoft programs. I kept at it and now the Microsoft programs are so easy for me to use. The last version of Microsoft Office I used was 2003, but when I got my new computer I had 2007/2010 installed on it. The setup is different but the functions are still pretty much the same. The point of this is to keep hanging in there and not give up. When I took computer classes they said practice, practice, practice and it will come to you. Trust me to say that it’s true. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

