Tari’s Writing Projects for 2012…What Do You Have Planned?

January 3, 2012

I hope you had a wonderful holiday season. I had exactly what I’ve wished for the last three years, and that was to have all three of my sons here together to celebrate the holiday. I get a little crazy during the holidays, baking cookies, making tamales, sewing, shopping and wrapping gifts. I absolutely love the holidays, but when January rolls around, I’m ready for a fresh new year and this year I’m ready to write.

Today should be my first day back to work, but the Grinch must have been at the post office this holiday season, because he put Jury Duty in my mailbox, and I start today. I do believe it’s my civic duty, so although my first choice would be to spend my day writing, I’m off to the courthouse. I’m taking my notebook and pens with me just in case. I’m also taking Kara Lennox’s Super Romance A Score to Settle.  Who knows, maybe I’ll get on an interesting case, and it will be research for my next book…

Aside from jury duty, I’ve set a deadline of February 29th to finish the rewrites on my book and have it ready to resubmit. My story has changed dramatically. The characters are the same, and much of the storyline is the same, but some deep dark secrets have come out, and a hidden family past that I’m very excited about.

I’m also sprucing up a short story hidden deep in my files for submission to a special project, and I’ll be working on a cookbook. So many people have asked me to write a cookbook since the years that I wrote “The Budget Pantry” column for Quick ‘N Easy Country Cooking Magazine and “The Penny Pincher” column and cooked for the photos for The Antelope Valley Press, I decided it’s time.

So I have plenty of work on my desk…and in my kitchen. What projects do you have planned? I’d love to hear what you’d like to accomplish in 2012. I’ll check back in after jury duty!

Wishing you all a Happy New Year!

Tari

9 Responses to “Tari’s Writing Projects for 2012…What Do You Have Planned?”

  1. Tilly Slaton Says:

    2012 will be very hectic and mind-blowing for me.

    I resume college classes on January 17th. As a mother, wife, student, writer, book addict and reviewer man oh man … Life is going to become INSANE 🙂

    I lost 40 pounds in 2011. My ultimate goal is 150 so I have another 20 pounds to go.

    I want to finish editing my book and HOPEFULLY have it published by February. We shall see how that goes. I have the synopsis and introduction letter just waiting to submit to publishers.

    I just need another week to finish editing and then I will be prepared to submit the entire book if it is requested. Yuck…400 pages and almost 120k word count. Crazy. Cross your fingers for me!

    I’m excited about your book! Is there a blog post about it? I’d love to sneak a glance. If not, I shall wait ever so impatiently for it’s release 😉

    Until then… sincerely smiling …
    ~tilly

  2. yhosby Says:

    Hello Tari,

    That’s cool that you take a pen and notebook with you; I do the same thing–you never know when you’ll feel like writing a story or scene.

    My writing goals for 2012 are:
    1. Keep working with my critique partner and group for my rough draft of a story I’m trying to get published
    2. submit my polished draft to at least two beta-readers
    3. query to agents, publishers, etc.
    4. If I can’t find someone to accept it, will take my draft to an editor
    5. Fix my errors then self-publish through Createspace

    Hopefully, I’ll find an agent though. Or at least, a small publishing house, so my book will go into bookstores.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta


  3. Tilly- I love your goals for 2012, and your weight loss achievments are inspiration for me! I’ll be wishing you luck with your book!! I hope you’ll keep us posted as you submit. We’re here to support and celebrate with each other….

    As for my book, I don’t think I’ve really blogged about the story much, which is probably just as well since I wrote my first draft as a romance, an editor read it and told me it was really leaning toward women’s fiction, and since then I have totally rewritten the story….I’ll have to think about blogging more specifically about it while I’m finishing up rewrites!! Thank you for your support!!

    Wishing you success in 2012, and thank you for the inspiration!! Keep in touch.


  4. Yawatta- you probably get this a lot, but I love your name….hope I’m sitting here pronouncing it right in my head!!

    You have such clear and solid writing goals for 2012, and it looks like you have a good support system set up too. I think setting yourself up with good feedback and accountability is half the battle. Please let us know how things are going while you work on that. We are all in varying stages of the same process with our readers, and love hearing your experiences!!

    Best wishes in 2012!!

    • yhosby Says:

      I’ll definitely keep you guys informed. I’ve heard so many variations of my name that I answer to anything LOL–as long as the person added the sound -tta at the end, it’s all good.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

