Ten-Cent Blue Pens, Wide-Ruled Spiral Notebooks, and Rampant Insanity…Thank You, Billy Coffey

January 12, 2012

Last night I read a post at Rachelle Gardner’s blog by guest blogger and author Billy Coffey. It was about what writers need to succeed. It started with a story about blue pens…or maybe insanity and writers, but I’m going with blue pens, because that’s what caught my attention. Apparently, Billy prefers blue pens, and as I have said here, and told Billy in my comment on his blog, I write with blue pens, 10-cent blue Bic pens. They are my favorite, and yes, I think that blue ink writes the best words.

But it’s not just about the pens. The paper is important. Yes, I can write on college-ruled paper. I can write on unlined paper, and my husband will marvel at how straight and perfect my writing is…thank you to Mr. Hayman my 5th grade teacher, who gave out kindergarten writing paper every time we turned in schoolwork with illegible writing.  But, I only write on wide-ruled paper, preferably wide-ruled spiral notebooks. As with the pens, I stock up on them at the back-to-school sales. Any college-ruled paper is saved for the boys for school, or grocery lists, and of course unlined paper is for printing from the computer… And if I’m printing my writing from the computer, odds are I first wrote it in a wide-ruled spiral notebook.

Now there is the exception of fancy stationary and fine paper. I will happily write on either of these and my characters have been known to write letters to me or each other on nice stationary. In a pinch, if the voices in my head are talking to me right now, and no wide-ruled spiral notebooks are available, you will find me writing on any paper, college-ruled, unlined, a cocktail napkin…and if necessary in black pen…You may however notice that my handwriting is rather angry or distressed, and I will later transfer it at the earliest opportunity to a spiral notebook with a blue pen, unless I just can’t bear to look at it.

Now Billy’s post was not really about blue pens or rampant insanity in writers. Although it started out that way, it was about writers already having the tools they need to succeed, regardless of whether they have the “right” color pen.

My post, however, is not nearly so inspirational…it’s truly about blue pens, wide-ruled spiral notebooks, and the voices in my head…and who says that’s the definition of insanity? So if you actually took the time to read my post, I suggest you head over to Rachelle Gardner’s blog and read Billy Coffey’s post, Needs, Wants & Pretty Blue Pens, for some inspiration.

But before you go…I’d love to hear what quirky things you need to write. Please tell me, so I know that I’m not truly insane…

Tari

6 Responses to “Ten-Cent Blue Pens, Wide-Ruled Spiral Notebooks, and Rampant Insanity…Thank You, Billy Coffey”

  1. Gillian Colbert Says:

    For me its a leather bound journal and a fountain pen. I love to watch the ink sink into the page and the scritch and scratch of the nib flowing across the paper is soothing.


    • Ooh! Me too, Gillian. I used scratchy sationary and a fountain pen to address my wedding invitations, and it was one was the most sensual experiences of my life. That scratch. That flow. I still remember the feeling 17 years later. It’s amazing. 🙂

      Elley

  2. taristhread Says:

    Ah, I haven’t written with a fountain pen….but I have a beautiful leather bound journal that my husband bought me…I’m afraid to write in it though, I want the words to be perfect!!

    I might get a fountain pen though…I like your description of writing with it….

  3. taristhread Says:

    That’s okay….I’m sure I’ll say it too after I use one….

Leave a Reply

