Health & Writing

January 13, 2012

January has thus far been a month of sickness in this house. Mainly just colds, but the kind that knock you down and take you out. We’re almost halfway through January and I’ve done little more than throw away dirty tissues and look at Pinterest… A lot.

Recently I read some blog post I wish I’d bookmarked. I have no idea where I read it, but it was about how an important part of being a successful writer is maintaining your health. Eat right, get sleep, exercise, yadda, yadda, yadda.

It’s not something you hear often (though many authors talk about needing to exercise), but I think we more associate writing or writers with chocolate, booze, coffee, and late nights. And while I am no health guru, rarely exercising and indulging my sweet tooth far too often, I had to nod along with this writer’s point.

When do I write the best and most? When I’m well rested, well fed, and feeling pretty peachy about life. When does writing become difficult, a low priority? When I’m tired, stressed, bogged down by a million things to do.

Does this mean I’ll skip that Coke with lunch or stick with an exercise routine? Probably not. But it does mean I’m paying more attention to the things that make me a better and more prolific writer, and being more conscious about my health choices definitely needs to be a part of that.

Nicole

One Response to “Health & Writing”


  1. This is so true, Nicole. Remember a little while ago when I was doing that whole foods routine to try to increase energy and focus. I also worked out every weekday morning, and I felt wonderful. Of course, the holidays came, and coupled with renos taking over my exercise room, I suck in the health department. Hopefully I can get back into a good routine soon. Thanks for the reminder!

    Elley

Leave a Reply

