I am a Writer: Meet Gillian Colbert

January 18, 2012

My Name and/or Pen Name: Gillian Colbert

Blog/web site/twitter: http://www.blackdoorpress.com and twitter is @GillianColbert  

Where I write: I write out of the Deep South in my little space carved out amongst my eleven-year-old daughter and my  two Pitbulls who rule the roost.

What I write: I write erotic fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Worst rejection: A form letter that told me absolutely nothing about why they rejected me.

Best rejection: “Great story. We’ve just closed to freelance submissions,” from Jack and Jill magazine.

What keeps me writing: The voices in my head clamoring to get their stories told and out for the world to see.

I am a writer because… I am driven to create worlds and characters that challenge their insecurities in the search for their one true mate.

***

[We’d like to thank Gillian for sharing with us. If you’re a romance writer (unpublished or published, straight romance or strong romantic elements) who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

3 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Gillian Colbert”


  1. Hi, Gillian!

    Thanks for sharing your writing journey with us. You’ll find a lot of us here share the same experiences, including the voices in our heads. We’re not crazy. We’re creative. 🙂 (I want a bumper sticker that says something like that: “I’m not crazy. I’m creative.”)

    Good luck to you!

    Elley


  2. Hi Gillian! I like the “challenge their insecurities” comment. I think that’s the basis of a lot of good fiction.

  3. yhosby Says:

    Hey Gillian,

    I like your reasoning for why you write. It is fun to have your characters come to life, isn’t it? Non-writers just don’t get that LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

