Silly Passion

January 19, 2012

“Anyone can be passionate, but it takes true lovers to be silly.” Rose Franken

I came across this quote on Pinterest, and I love it. I don’t know where the idea came from, or why I felt that way, but long before I started dating I knew that my perfect match wouldn’t necessarily be someone who would sweep me off my feet with grand romantic gestures. Instead I was interested in someone who could make me laugh and someone who could appreciate my own silliness.

Which is why my favorite romance novels, the ones that truly stick with me, are the ones that show the heroine and hero tease each other or have silly moments. In Nora Roberts’ Birthright, the heroine plays the Jaws theme because she knows it freaks the hero out. Makes me giggle every time. In Shannon Stacey’s Yours to Keep, a game of scrabble turns far more steamy, but it starts off in a fun, silly place.

When I think of happily ever after, when you as a writer want me to believe the main characters are in love and will remain that way, when you want me to believe they are companions for life, I need to know they can laugh together, be silly together, as much as I need to know they can get through the hard stuff together.

Nicole

Leave a Reply

