I am a Writer: Meet Summer Vasu

January 25, 2012

My Name and/or Pen Name: Summer Vasu

Blog/web site/twitter: I’m on twitter @SummerVasu

Where I write: When I’m at home, I write at my desk, on my laptop. But nowadays, I mostly do my editing here. I used to scribble in a notebook when on bus ride on way to work. I can tell you it drew a lot of attention. It was funny the way people would crane their necks and try to make out my scribbles – some of which even I found frustratingly incomprehensible later! Once a man said to me, “Mam, I’ve seen people reading on their journeys, you’re the only person I’ve seen writing during one!” That really split my sides and made me shake my head at my own self. But when else would I find the time? Having a job and taking care of husband, two kids and in-laws at home rather narrows the leisure a bit. Though it’s touch and go when they’ll all decide to disown me for having writing more on my mind than cooking, washing and all the rest of it. Now since hubby’s got me a Blackberry, I’ve given up on scribbling and usually hide the screen with my index while I jab down short hand to keep up with the flow of thoughts.

What I write: Contemporary romance, or mostly along Modern HMB lines. Have been trying my hand on a paranormal short, hopefully I’ll finish it.

Worst rejection: Combined rejects of last two years number up to four. Except one, they were all standard Rs. My worst one was probably the third I got for a Modern, since I had high hopes for that one. But I quite see what I did wrong and am grateful for the experience. And oh yes, one even worse was losing a contest. It rankled so much, I turned a sore loser and didn’t vote for the finalists at all. That was early 2011. Hopefully, it has made me a better person and I won’t do such a thing again.

Best rejection: It was for a medical first chapter submission call from HMB. They called my writing intense and compelling. I was really encouraged by that.

What keeps me writing: The fact that I simply cannot not write. It took me many years to finally start trying, although it was always at the back of my mind in a sort of ‘will do sometime’ way. Since I have started however I find life has become more meaningful despite the rush hour feeling I have created for my every day.

I am a writer because…I love to shape stories, and scenes and conversations that keep running in my head. Two characters involved in intense emotion, that scenario makes me write and I start to lag when I write the in-between filling scenes.

***

[We’d like to thank Summer for sharing with us. If you’re a romance writer (unpublished or published, straight romance or strong romantic elements) who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

10 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Summer Vasu”

  1. raven Says:

    Summer It will be sooner rather than later before you are published, your writing is so powerful. Keep on trying.
    Thanks for sharing with us!


  2. We love your work Summer and it’s only a matter of time before we see your work in print xx

  3. Kiru Taye Says:

    Nice post, Summer. My advice to keep writing and keep working on the areas you need to improve. Your day will come.

    Best wishes,
    Kiru


  4. Hi Summer, I love your writing, I really do 🙂 Your day will come. I can see it in my crystal ball, and now you’ve been profiled, well… Let the magic work. Seriously though, I completely agree with the statement of not being able not to write. If I never published another book, I would still be writing. xx

  5. Summer Says:

    Thanks for so wonderful words and for your friendship, Doris. You inspire me. With your wonderful managing of your brood and your fantastic writing skills!

  6. Anita Bodle Says:

    I wish you all the best Summer.xx

Leave a Reply

