Why I Love My E-Reader

January 30, 2012

This past week we’ve spent a lot of time doing projects that need to be done around the house before Baby #2 arrives. One of things I’ve had to do is downsize my bookshelf space since I have now lost my “office.” (Please note I put that in quotes because I never actually used it aside from storing books and office supplies.)

So, I went through my books, boxing up any that I didn’t want easily at hand. I’ve moved a lot over the course of my life, and this is the first time I went through my books with the express purpose of putting some of them away. Off my bookshelf, out of sight. I was surprised at how easy it was to box up my history books from college, teaching books from when I was working, and even books I simply didn’t like or never got around to reading (and at this point probably never will).

Back when e-readers were a newfangled thing, I never imagined I would own one. How could it replace the feel of a book in your hands? Still, last year my Mom got me a Kindle for my birthday and I’ve pretty much read exclusively from it since then. After moving bookcases, going through books, etc over and over again I see more and more the benefit of my e-reader.

I already have so much clutter. Toys everywhere. Husband’s T-shirts multiplying at night, I swear. Pictures, knicks-knacks, and did I mention toys? My Kindle is just this little thing. It isn’t hard to move or heavy. The babies can’t pull it off the shelves and clutter the floor with it.

Of course, there’s something to be said about a paper book. About underlining favorite lines, and I’ve even considered buying print versions of some e-books I’ve particularly loved. But, honestly, at this point in my life having all of my books in one tiny little device is exactly what I need to keep my sanity.

Nicole

8 Responses to “Why I Love My E-Reader”

  1. raven Says:

    Nod,nod and nod.My kindle er all of them, lol I have my old well worn 3gWifi, a touch and a fire, (neither out in the UK but a VERY understanding and passing through the USA husband,) are a godsend. the fire and the touch compliment each other beautifully. now I can take clothes on holiday, not just books.
    I originally had a sony, and in the end it turned its toes up and died from overuse.
    RE bookshelves. ARGHHH. We have a ‘study/tv/ironing/get out this is MY room room, which is three wallsbookshelves. mine and OH.
    He sorted the shelves over CHristmas. now I can’t find anything. did we send any to the charity shop? About 10. Have we read them all. no not hardly. Will we? ditto. will we get rid of them Roflmo. NO they are books.


  2. I couldn’t agree more. I haven’t purchased a paper-paged romance novel in well over a year. Funny thing though, I just wrote a post on my website about my non-fiction royal history addiction, and I realized I don’t buy those books in digitial. It’s a very rich, sensory experience for me when I browse those history shelves.

    E

    • nicolehelm Says:

      Actually, I hadn’t thought about it, but I do hesitate to buy non-fiction books on my Kindle. Anything that might involve wanting to go back and find a particular segment I still tend to gravitate towards print. My Kindle is all romance right now. Not sure if that’ll change or not.

  3. taristhread Says:

    I just got my Kindle in July, and I have to admit, there are only 3 books on it (unless you include my own manuscript, then 4. I haven’t really had much time for reading, and this last year I’ve been given so many romance novels at RWA meetings that I haven’t had time to read yet.

    The storage issue is a big draw for me.

    As for t-shirts multiplying at night, I know they do. When we moved this last time, hubby had HUNDREDS of t-shirts. I finally put them all on the sofa in the living room and said…cut this down to 50. Of course, we moved three years ago, I might need to do that again soon.

  4. yhosby Says:

    Did you know that you can highlight your favorite passages within a novel on kindle? And, while you read, you can see how many other people have highlighted something from a book.

    I brought a kindle for Christmas, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I especially love to browse through the free books LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta


  5. […] the heels of Nicole’s post about e-readers came Jonathan Franzen’s disparaging comments about e-books.  Twitter exploded […]

Leave a Reply

