I am a Writer: Meet Yawatta Hosby

February 1, 2012

My Name and/or Pen Name:  Yawatta Hosby

Blog/website/twitter:  http://yawattahosby.wordpress.com

Where I write:  I take a notebook and pen everywhere I go.  I love writing in the hair salon, at the library while I’m checking out the cute librarian, in the bathroom, at family get-togethers, and in the car.  If at home, I write while watching TV or listening to music.  The more background noise–the better I concentrate.

What I write:  Contemporary Romance.  Dramas that focus on family and romantic relationships.

Worst rejection:  I haven’t started the query process yet, but I’ll get there by three to four months.  I imagine the worst kind of rejection would be the generic ones–“I enjoyed reading your manuscript, but it isn’t a right fit for my agency.”

Best rejection:  I imagine the best kind would be where the agent or editor gives certain suggestions to your manuscript and invites you to resubmit.

What keeps me writing:  My imagination.  I would be lost if I couldn’t jot down the lives of my characters.  Writing is my passion and keeps me motivated during the day–my excuse to daydream.

I am a writer because:  I was meant to be one.  Ever since junior high school, my teachers and some family members have encouraged me to try and get published.  Now, I’m setting my doubts aside and taking their advice.

[We’d like to thank Yawatta for sharing with us. If you’re a romance writer (unpublished or published, straight romance or strong romantic elements) who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

3 Responses to “I am a Writer: Meet Yawatta Hosby”

  1. taristhread Says:

    Hi Yawatta

    i’m so like you. I take a notebook and pen everywhere I go. I have to be able to write when something strikes me. Someone will be talking to me, and all of a sudden I have to pull out my pen and start writing.

    I look forward to seeing your books in print!!
    Tari

  2. yhosby Says:

    Thank you so much for featuring me on your blog. I’m very grateful!

    Tari, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who does that. It’s funny when my friends or family try to sneak a peek over my shoulder to see what I’m writing. They think it’s a personal journal–I wouldn’t be stupid enough to carry that around LOL.
    They always say, “You better not be writing about me!”

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

