I am a Writer: Meet Libby Mercer

February 22, 2012

My name and/or pen name:Libby Mercer

Blog: http://libby-mercer.blogspot.com/

Where I write: I don’t have a desk set up at home right now, so I can usually be found on the sofa working away on my laptop while I’m stretched out. It’s a pretty sweet setup. I’m not in a huge hurry to get my desk sorted out.

What I write: Sweet contemporary romance. To be more specific, my romance has a slight chick-litty feel with some quirky characters and offbeat situations.  My debut novel is called Fashioning a Romance, and will be released on May 18 by Musa Publishing.

Worst rejection: Fortunately, I don’t have any rejection horror stories (not that I haven’t had rejections, hah!). I’ve been writing for many, many years. Started submitting manuscripts about fifteen years ago – off and on – but my writing has definitely improved over the years, so it all worked out for the best.

What it was like to get “the call”:  Technically, I got “the email” and it was nothing short of amazing. It was surreal and wonderful, and it’s still kind of hard to believe!

What keeps me writing: The stories that keep popping into my head. I can’t imagine walking around with these stories unfolding in my mind and not actually getting them out on paper (or on the screen, to be more accurate).

[We’d like to thank Libby for sharing with us. If you’re a romance writer (unpublished or published, straight romance or strong romantic elements) who is interested in being profiled, email Elley.]

Leave a Reply

