Pep Talk Anyone?

February 23, 2012

So this is one of those days that I could use a pep talk. Do you have days like this? My life is changing all around me and I’m wondering can I do this? Can I write my book while everything goes crazy? Can I focus? Can I make this happen?

Over the years, I’ve always found a way to write. When I held a real job, I would finagle a way to write a company newsletter or put together the company handbook. As receptionist at an advertising agency, I managed to infiltrate the copy writer room. Kind of like George in the Seinfeld sitcom series, I just took over a desk in an office and started writing ad copy. I know it sounds insane, but I did…and they let me keep writing. Eventually, they even let me write television commercials….I did dream a little about writing screenplays for a while, screenplays from the novel I would write.

When the boys were born and I had three little ones at home, I kept writing primarily short pieces, magazine articles, newspaper columns, press releases…resumes for friends and family…lots and lots of resumes…but rarely my own. Occasionally, just because I wanted to remind myself that I really wanted to write fiction, I would write a short story here and there and tuck it in a drawer, my novel waiting. Waiting for when the three little boys were out of diapers, bottles and off to school, did I say off to school? Waiting for when I quit homeschooling and they were all in college…not that I was wishing those years away. I loved every minute that the boys were home with me…okay, there were minutes I could have done without. I mean really I raised three boys, but whatever happened I loved being a mom, however imperfect a mom I am. It was my first career choice, and writing has been a passion that I’ve put on hold.

So now, here I am boys growing up, doing their own things, building their lives, and I’m watching them in awe while I finally start to do what I’ve always known I would do when I grew up… I mean when they grew up…write.

But life has a way of throwing you a curve ball every now and then. Things can change quickly, and what do you do? The responsible thing of course, whatever that may be. So can I write? Or will my writing get put in a drawer again?

What do you do when life throws you curve balls? How many times have you put your fiction writing career on hold…or have you? Oh, don’t worry. (You are worried about my writing aren’t you?) I’ll keep writing, but things are changing around here once again…anyone have a pep talk for me? I could use one.

 

4 Responses to “Pep Talk Anyone?”


  1. Curveballs are the name of the game around here. 😉 Several years ago, I stopped writing fiction, because I couldn’t see a way to make it fit. My husband was gone all the time (not much has changed there) and my kids were very young. Like you, I wrote on the job. At the time, I was working as a senior editor for a woman’s fitness magazine. My big plan was to stay up late, especially on nights when Hubby wasn’t home, and work on fiction. But when I finally got the kids to bed, I was exhausted and traded sleep on the couch or crawling into bed for writing a single word of fiction. This went on for years. I didn’t write a word of fiction for probably a good three years, and it hurt me more than it helped. Writing is my therapy, especially when I’m dodging curveballs. I learned my lesson last time, that no matter how busy or overwhelmed I am, I MUST write for my sanity. As a compromise, I give myself permission to take time off (vacations, weekends, etc.), but I insist on going back as soon as the break is over. Even if the words I’m writing aren’t prolific, the action is good for my soul.

    You can do it, Tari. 🙂

    E

  2. taristhread Says:

    Thanks Elley! I needed that….

  3. Jeannie Says:

    Like you, I raised boys (two) and wrote off and on through the years–putting it away in a drawer. Finally, I gave myself permission to write. Don’t know why I needed to do that, but I did. Funny thing is, I could have done that all along and didn’t. Maybe I thought I was being selfish? Don’t know, but I got over the feeling and empowered myself.

    There’s nothing we can do about curve balls except to keep punting, and writing! Remember to take care of yourself in all the chaos. I wish you the best!! It will be all right. 😉

  4. taristhread Says:

    Thanks Jeanie!! Wishing you the best as well.

    And you’re right it will be alright, somehow it does always work out…just the way it’s supposed to….

Leave a Reply

