So I Went and Got a Real Job

February 28, 2012

No really, I did. Last week I needed that pep talk, and here I am today telling you I got a real job. Did I give up on writing? Nope, not possible, it’s like breathing. If I gave up on writing, I’d die. No, nothing has changed on the writing front. My drawer of 10-cent blue pens is well stocked, and my spiral notebook stash is starting to dwindle. I’m still busy doing re-writes, but my life has been changing rapidly lately, and I need to change as well.

I’ve been a stay-at-home mom/writer for most of the last….well let’s just say, for a very long time. I’ve written magazine articles between park days with our playgroups and newspaper columns during naptime. I’ve written press releases late at night after PTA meetings and advertising campaigns between planning homeschool lessons. During all of that time, although I wrote continuously, my life truly revolved around my boys. I always thought that when my boys went off to college what would save me from “empty nest” would be my writing…

But what I didn’t consider was that unlike someone with a “real job,” my “real life” has been wrapped up in my kids. My day to day social contact has been with moms at our PTA or at school basketball games, and all of a sudden those moms have either gone back to work or moved away, and here I am sitting in my office/sewing room, (yes, youngest moved out, and I have my own room…just like I wanted. Oh, he only moved a mile away…just like I wanted.) working, but feeling disconnected from the real world.

So, I was in the Del Amo Mall the other day (my favorite mall), talking to the girls at the Viking Sewing Gallery where I used to work…for a brief time…years ago…when the idea came to me that maybe I could teach sewing lessons there, instead of just coming and interrupting their work when I’m lonely (this is so sad!), and then the idea expanded to maybe working at the store part time, and the next thing I knew I had a job. A real job…okay, I’m only going to be working 10 to 15 hours a week, but I will be working.

Then I started thinking about all of the writers that I know, and most of them have real jobs…many wish they could quit and write full time, but most have real jobs. Louise is a college teacher. Ann is a lawyer. Erin just changed jobs, and I’m not sure what she’s doing now, but she’s working and raising kids, and writing…

So, starting Saturday, I’ll be working too. I’d love to know how many of you have real jobs, how many combine motherhood and writing like Elley and Nicole, and how many of you focus entirely on your writing, full time…drop me a line and tell me…and maybe next week I’ll actually write something about writing! Who knows, maybe working will inspire me.

Tari

7 Responses to “So I Went and Got a Real Job”


  1. Congrats, Tari, and good for you! You’ll love the interaction with the other ladies, and I’m sure it will be good for your creativity/imagination. Maybe you can start work on a sewing shop-based romance. 🙂

    E


  2. I thought when I retired, I’d write eight hours a day. Instead, I find excuses to go to the mall. After all, don’t they tell you to go sit and write about what you see? But that doesn’t get my WIP done. On the other hand, after a lifetime of at least two jobs at a time, no way am I looking for honest employment! I thought of starting a writers’ group, but hey, the best ones are here online.


  3. Elley, thank you! I think it will be nice to have some female interaction!!! And I have read a couple of the quilting novels, sew who knows…..

    Genie, have you joined RWA? I’ve met some great ladies there, the problem for me is they’re kind of far from me, so I usually only see them once a month…I think this will be good for me!!

  4. Jeannie Says:

    Congratulations on your new job! I’m still home full-time but always looking for an opportunity to expand my horizons a bit.

    I think you’re going to have a lot of fun!


  5. Thanks Jeanie!! I think it’ll be fun too.

  6. Summer Says:

    Congrats for the new start Tari. I’m also holding down a job while juggling writing with family. The good thing is you can’t complain of having time on your hands in this setup 🙂 I guess it’s in my favour that I work few days a week. Good luck.


  7. Thanks Summer!! Definitely no idle time…. I’ll only be working a couple of days a week, so I should be good….we’ll see….

Leave a Reply

