Maternity Leave

March 1, 2012

I’ve decided this will be my last post at From Fact to Fiction until April. I’m taking a blogging maternity leave.

It’s interesting to me that exactly two years ago I was getting ready to go back to my teaching job after my maternity leave with my first child. Oddly enough, that first maternity leave was what inspired me to pursue publication seriously for the first time. I’d been writing for years with the vague idea someday maybe I’d try to get published, but this was the start of actually trying.

In two years, pursuing publication has become my focus, second only to motherhood. I consider writing my career. But why now? Now that I have to fit writing in to a pretty demanding schedule? Why not back when I had summers off or evenings and weekends entirely to myself before I became a teacher?

I have found that the busier I am, the more I get done. I’m a procrastinator at heart, but what happens when there’s no time to procrastinate? You’ve got to suck it up and get it all done. You find time in little snatches. Some days it’s easy and sometimes it’s impossible, but overall I’m getting more done each day than I ever did when I had hours upon hours of downtime.

Now, in a few short weeks I’ll be adding a second kiddo to the mix, and who knows what will happen. I do know that I’ll keep writing and working  on building my writing career, just this time in between two nap times, two boys’ diapers to change, two mouths to feed, etc…

I’ll be back in April, hopefully not too sleep deprived.

Nicole

2 Responses to “Maternity Leave”


  1. I fully expect for this blog to be granted exclusive rights to your birth story and baby pics. 😉

    E

Leave a Reply

