What Are You Reading?

March 12, 2012

Writers read. Between the demands of life and the need to write, we often read less than we’d like, making time spent reading even more precious. Some writers read within the genre they write, because that’s what they enjoy, what inspires them and what illustrates market trends. Others explore different genres for a complete escape from their writing.

I’m late to The Hunger Games craze, having just started the first book this past weekend. Honestly, this is about as far away from my writing and usual reads as I can get. First-person narrative, dystopian world, violence and children in peril are all characteristics that would prompt me to pick another book. But there is something about this book. Maybe it’s the strength of the heroine. Maybe it’s the barbaric turn society has taken hundreds of years after whatever disaster eliminated CIVILization. Whatever the reason I’m reading a book that forces me firmly outside my comfort zone, and I’m not sure how long I want to remain there. 🙂

How about you? What are you reading? Do you read the genre you write, or do you explore other genres? What topics make you uncomfortable while reading?

6 Responses to “What Are You Reading?”

  1. Cassie Says:

    I read all three Hunger Games novels this week and just like you I felt very out of place. However, I loved them – so just keep reading! You’re not alone. : )

  2. plaintain1 Says:

    I’ve just finished reading The Association of Foreign Spouses by Marilyn Heward Mills, a story set in 60s Ghana, about three foreign women married to Ghanaian men and how they cope with married life and coup d’tat’s in Ghana. A great read. I’m about to read Half a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi. It won the Booker a few years ago and Long Island by Andrea Levy.

    I try to read post-colonial literature as I would like to tackle writing a book set in the diaspora. Uncomfortable reading – child abuse, graphic violence, rape.


  3. I’m currently rereading Jhumpa Lahiri’s incredible novel, “The Namesake.” I consider myself a literary writer and reader, but I’m working on a historical novel now, so that has led me to branch out in my book selection. Just finished Maria Duenas’ “The Time in Between.”

    I haven’t read “The Hunger Games,” but I’m sure I will eventually.

  4. taristhread Says:

    I’m a little behind here, not reading right now, but need to pick a book.


  5. […] Elley wrote about reading, and I realized that I haven’t actually read a book this year, well not fiction anyway. Years ago […]

Leave a Reply

