To Be Read

March 13, 2012

Yesterday, Elley wrote about reading, and I realized that I haven’t actually read a book this year, well not fiction anyway. Years ago this wouldn’t have happened; I read books faster than I could acquire them. But here I am with a stack of books on my nightstand in my ‘to read’ pile, and a few downloads on my Kindle that have not yet been read, and the truth is, that the only thing I’ve been reading is my own manuscript…which has been at a little bit of a stand still.

So maybe that’s what I need to do…read a book. Reading a good book makes me aspire to write something special. Heck, reading a bad book makes me want to prove I can do better.  I have two political thrillers, several historical romances, four contemporary romances and a chick-lit waiting for me to read them. Oh, and my mother just passed a large paper bag of books my way that I have yet to sort through…

I’m writing contemporary women’s fiction. The last two books I’ve read have been historical fiction, Maya Banks’ In Bed with a Highlander and Courtney Milan’s Unclaimed, both outstanding reads.

So, I’m leaning toward something with a sense of humor, maybe Carol Snow’s Getting Warmer. I think I’ll go with that. I’ll let you know.

So what books have you read that were so good they made you aspire to better writing? Which books have you read that were…well, they made you want to prove that you could do better? I’d love to know…

Tari

One Response to “To Be Read”


  1. Pretty much every book by Susan Elizabeth Phillips that I’ve ever read has made me want to write better so I can be in her league. Hey, dream big or go home. Right? 😉

    E

Leave a Reply

