Good News and Why I’m Spending Time with an Ex

March 21, 2012

First things first…if you follow Nicole on Twitter, then this is old news. If you don’t, then pop over and offer her congratulations for this:

Pretty cool, huh?

So while Nicole is spending time with her beautiful family, I’ve been spending time with an ex, an ex-manuscript that is.

I thought I was done with it. I thought I could walk away. I thought wrong.

The day before Nicole gave birth, I finally got the gumption to send along the next chapter in my work in progress (WIP). Of course, she was kind of busy. 🙂 Because of the importance of the chapter and her feedback to the story, I decided to sit on the WIP a little while longer. Then came the question: Now what?

While I tried to answer the question, I became bored, and in the downtime, some miniscule detail of my day reminded me about an ex-WIP. I started reminiscing about all the fun we’d had, writing and revising. Such good times!

Of course, there was misery. We parted ways in the very early stages of submission. I submitted the completed manuscript one time, and that one time resulted in Rejection. With this blow to my ego, I took a closer look at the story, and I saw serious flaws. How could I have thought we were so good?

I was devastated. I’d spent major time loving and caring for this creature only to have failed it in the end. I couldn’t bear to see it, so I pushed it away.

As I returned to life without the manuscript by my side, there were reminders all around me. Instead of deleting emails pertaining to the manuscript, I cherished them. The songs I’d written by brought me to a standstill. Every trip to the lake sparked memories of our time together. My pining was out of control.

Eventually, I did what any woman trying to heal a broken heart did…I forced myself to move on with the help of newer, shinier stories that offered a blast of excitement and held the promise of a clean slate where I wouldn’t repeat my earlier mistakes.

But I made mistakes. I hit rough patches. And the ex was never far from my mind.

This week, I cracked. I let the ex back into my life. After a couple hours together, I realized I’d never fallen out of love with this story. Maybe I’m crazy, but I’ve decided to give it another shot.

We have so much potential.

Can it work? I don’t know. I’ve heard stories about writers who fade into oblivion, wasting hour after hour on a manuscript past its prime. I’ve heard other stories about writers who abandoned the old and immediately sold the new. And of course, I’ve heard stories about writers who never gave up, rejection after rejection, keeping faith in the story they’d written until it finally sold. You know that? I can’t say that I’ve ever heard a story about a writer who tossed a manuscript aside, wrote two more, and then went back to the first.

Am I crazy?

Don’t answer that. I’m pretty sure I know the answer, but I’m going to go with it and see what happens. 🙂

Elley

One Response to “Good News and Why I’m Spending Time with an Ex”

  1. taristhread Says:

    Nope, I have a manuscript I’m sitting on, and want to go back to after I finish the current one….if you’re crazy I am too. Okay, leave that alone…

Leave a Reply

