Who’s on First?

April 6, 2012

I’ve spent the last two weeks trying to get back in touch with my characters after a long break from my writing. Last week, I read. This week, I went to Hermosa Beach, where the story is set, to walk, write, and try to find my main character again. I know she’s there.

The interesting thing is, that I’ve felt my hero more than my heroine, so I’ve been focusing on him, the gorgeous hunk who sweeps her off her feet, although he seems to be swept off his feet as well.

The story actually starts in the hero’s point of view, then moves to the heroine’s point of view later. I like it, but I’ve had comments both ways. Most of my “volunteer” readers and critique readers have said they wouldn’t change it, but a couple have told me they want the story to start with the heroine’s point of view first so they feel like they know her when the hero and heroine meet…which happens in the first few lines of the book.

I’ve written an alternate opening, starting with HER point of view, but I like the original better.

So should a story start with the heroine’s point of view, or can it work when it starts with the hero’s point of view? Is it okay to see the heroine through HIS eyes first? Tell me what you think? I’d love to know.

Tari

5 Responses to “Who’s on First?”

  1. Nan Hartwell Says:

    I love stories that start in the hero’s POV. I think it is fine to get to know the heroine through his eyes first. Sure I want to get inside of her head, too, and see the world through her eyes, but it doesn’t have to start there.

  2. Francene Says:

    I really like the way you talk about “getting in touch with your character” by going for a long walk. I’ve never really approached my characters like that before because I’m always aware they are a creation of mine. Your way seems like a really nice way of letting the character emerge on their own and speak for themselves without too much conscious control. I will definitely be trying your approach!

  3. taristhread Says:

    Nan, thank you, it’s good to know I’m not alone in feeling that way!!

    Francene, I’ll check out your book!! I do like to walk to clear my head of everything else and find my character, but my book is also set in Hermosa Beach, so I try to walk where she would and let her into my head to show me her world. It works well for me. I kind of let my characters find me.


  4. I have no problem with the hero POV being the first. In fact, if I connect with a male character first, liking him can go a long way to me enjoying the story–even if I’m not connecting with a heroine.

    Elley

Leave a Reply

