Why Do You Write?

April 9, 2012

It’s a basic question, one that many writers face from time to time. Whether it’s from well-meaning family and friends or from interviews, like the ones we publish for Writer Wednesday, writers should expect to explain why they write.

For me, the simple answer is that I write because I enjoy it. The more creative answer is that I write because the voices in my head need a reason—other than insanity—to be there. But those aren’t the only reasons. The reasons are many, and some are complicated, making this a topic I often ignore. After all, why should I care about why I write as long as I’m writing?

Honestly? Sometimes, I don’t enjoy writing, and sometimes the voices in my head quiet. That’s when I stop writing. That’s when I wonder why I was writing at all. That’s when I need a reminder of the many reasons why I write.

  1. I write because I like the distraction from my daily life.
  2. I write because it gives me control over somebody and some things.
  3. I write because finishing a story proves I’m capable of following through to the end.
  4. I write because creating fictional characters, nurturing them and giving them whole lives satisfies my maternal instinct.
  5. I write because it occupies my time.
  6. I write because the tapping on the keys fills the quiet room.
  7. I write because I can.
  8. I write because I have something to say.
  9. I write because I want to be read.

It’s not an all-inclusive list. I’m sure I’ll think of more. Can you add to the list?

Elley

3 Responses to “Why Do You Write?”


  1. I write….because I have to!! 😉

  2. Jeannie Says:

    I can relate to all of yours and a few more too…but for now, let me add that I write because it’s cheaper than therapy!!


  3. I write because people are rude. They won’t shut up and listen to what I have to say, so I have to write it all down and shove it under their noses and threaten to post it on the web if they don’t read it!

Leave a Reply

