Letting Go

May 25, 2012

Elley’s post on Wednesday got me thinking about my manuscripts. I’ve been writing a long time, and so I have 15 manuscripts finished. 15 is a lot of love to spread around, but I do love them all in different ways.

However, some just mean more to me. There are different reasons for that, but for whatever reason some I can hide under the bed without too much pain while some I continue to submit, continue to believe in.

This isn’t all about quality, though I would venture to guess that is part of it. After all, the two I am actively submitting right now are my most recently finished manuscripts. It can be because of a character, a topic, a setting that means a lot to me on a personal level, beyond just writing about them. When I have no trouble putting a manuscript away it’s not always because I don’t believe in it, it’s just I realize it’s not ready yet.

Continuing Elley’s child analogy, some of my manuscripts are ready to graduate into the big scary world out there if a good college is ready to accept them, while some might need to go to summer school or maybe be held back a grade (or two).

I just hope I have time to give them all the love and attention needed to get them to graduate.

Nicole

2 Responses to “Letting Go”

  1. taristhread Says:

    Unlike you and Elley, I actually have only one complete manuscript….and one nearly complete manuscript that I wrote years ago, and want to finish. Oh, and the first chapter of a western romance that I started just because I read one that was so terrible that I wanted to write a better one!! I kind of like the opening…..

    It’s not that I haven’t always been writing. I can’t remember not writing. As an adult though, between homeschooling, the house and everything else, the writing I managed to squeeze in was generally non-fiction, magazine articles, newspaper articles, or writing as a volunteer for the PTA newsletter (I didn’t homeschool all of the boys) or similar projects. I did occasionally write a short story just because.

    I’m so happy to be writing fiction now. I’m almost done polishing this one, will send it out, and start working on the other one, and I will probably continue submitting it until I have no one left to submit it to…….who knows what will end up under the bed!

  2. yhosby Says:

    Just wanted to let you know, that I nominated you guys for the Versatile Award. For details: http://yawattahosby.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

