Some Friday Inspiration (Volume 1)

July 27, 2012

 

Every writer deals with bad days and good days, bad weeks and good weeks, months. Sometimes short, sometimes long, these stretches make you question yourself. Your writing, your ability, probably sometimes even your sanity.

It doesn’t matter where you are in the process of writing for publication. Whether you’ve had zero rejections or hundreds (I’m sadly closer to the latter). Whether you’ve had no success or many, many published novels, I’m pretty sure we all have really bad writing days. Days of doubt, questioning, despair. Even days you (no matter how fleetingly) think you should just quit.

One of the things I try to do when I’m in one of these depressing spots is find words that give me comfort or inspiration. I have a spot in the notebook where I keep my goals and business plans to write inspiring quotes and my bookmarks bar is filled with posts that have made me remember myself.

So, today (and probably once a month or so in the future) I’ll be sharing with you some places that have offered me inspiration in those dark times.

Number One: This post (http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2012/01/03/25-things-writers-should-stop-doing/). More than anything, I go back to number seven. I have to remind myself this writing thing is SUPPOSED to be hard. If it was easy, anybody could and would do it. So when it’s hard, I remind myself it’s supposed to be this way and at some point I’ll look back and thank God it was because something good came out of all that hard work.

Number Two: This Youtube video (Jack White – Inspiration) of Jack White talking about inspiration. He’s talking about music but it can one hundred percent pertain to writing. Mainly that inspiration is hard work, and if you wait around for it to strike you’re never going to accomplish anything. You’ve got to force yourself to create sometimes.

Number Three: This quote comes from my absolute favorite book on writing Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. My copy of this book is wrinkled and falling apart, underlined to death, notes all over the margins, old post-its crinkled from wear sticking out everywhere. This is the book that told me I could do this, and I didn’t have to be perfect doing it.

“Perfectionism is a mean, frozen form of idealism, while messes are the artist’s true friend. What people somehow (inadvertently, I’m sure) forgot to mention when we were children was that we need to make messes in order to find out who we are and why we are here–and by extension, what we’re supposed to be writing.”

Happy Friday, everyone! Hope you go into the weekend feeling a little inspired.

Nicole

2 Responses to “Some Friday Inspiration (Volume 1)”

  1. Ruchita Says:

    Thanks for taking the time for this, Nicole. Definitely needed by any writer at one time or another.

Leave a Reply

