Little Free Library

September 5, 2012

I stumbled onto something the other day that I wanted to share. As readers and writers, we have a vested interest in the sharing of books. Sharing books ultimately sells more books and more books sold means more books published. Win win!

Unfortunately, sharing books has become embroiled in the ebook revolution. Libraries are facing declining numbers of users and declining funds. Ebook lending is struggling to create universally accepted and beneficial parameters, leading readers to buy digital and not pass along the books they love. Boo!

What can we do to keep the sharing alive? This.

Little Free Library

 

This is a “little free library.” It sprouts without pomp or circumstance from the grass between two front lawns in a neighborhood not far from my house. It’s hard to tell whose handy work it is. There are no identifying markings. The only directive is what you see…Leave a Book. Take a Book.

Good God, it makes me cry.

Imagine my emotional response when I did a little research and discovered this is part of a movement. Little libraries like this are popping up all over America. Couldn’t your neighborhood use one?

To find out more, visit Little Free Library online.

Did you know about this or stumble onto a little free library in your neck of the woods? I’d love to know. Share your comments below.

Happy Reading! Happy Sharing!

Elley

4 Responses to “Little Free Library”


  1. This is an amazing Idea, although I don’t think it would stick in England unfortunately. Love the fact they could be spring up all over America though.


    • I’d like to think it would stick anywhere people read. 🙂 But you’re right…there are many places in the USA where it wouldn’t work either, whether because of geography or social custom. Still, it might be worth a try. You could start a trend. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Elley

  2. taristhread Says:

    I have heard about this, although I’ve never actually seen one. There’s also a movement where you leave a book you’ve finished in a public place, with your first name and city inside and possibly an e-mail address. You might leave it on a table at a coffee shop, or in a public park. The person who finds it can take it, read it, add their name to it. Leave it somewhere else, and send a note to the e-mail address to track it. It’s kind of cool.

    I LOVE your Little Free Library. If I saw one I’d fill it with books!


    • That’s a cool idea, too, Tari. Although I’d be afraid some deviant would pick my book up and then stalk my email. LOL.

      As for the Little Free Library, wouldn’t it be fun to build one that’s in the shape of a castle and stocking with romances? “Leave a book. Take a book. Only ‘happily ever afters,’ please.”

      Elley

Leave a Reply

