Write not Wrong

September 19, 2012

I read a bit of advice that got me thinking today. In a blog post full of writing advice as part of Harlequin’s yearly writing workshop/contest, So You Think You Can Write, Author Ann Lethbridge writes: One of the things I love about writing fiction is that I can never be wrong. Yes, there is always room for improvement of craft, but the final decisions are mine.

I’d forgotten that. I’ve been hung up on the right way to write a story, second guessing every word, every plot point. Is it okay to do this? Is it okay to do that? All that questioning slows my writing down and sucks the joy from the process.

Today, when I ask myself if it’s okay to do this or that, the answer is going to be a resounding absolutely. That doesn’t mean it won’t change later, that I won’t find a different way to advance the plot or convey a message. Rather, like my illustrious CP recently pointed out: There are a million ways to tell a story, and one or the other isn’t necessarily better or worse (maybe more saleable, but not better or worse).

I’m thankful for writers who share their advice. Those words of wisdom often pull me from the edge of writer’s block and rescue me from the land of “oh my God, you’re doing it wrong!”

My new mantra:

There’s no right in write. 🙂

Elley

4 Responses to “Write not Wrong”

  1. mlfables Says:

    I’ve found that the best way to write is to just freewrite the story. For the first draft, all I care about is getting my story down onto paper.

    The time for second guessing prose or cutting out dialogue, is during the editing process, (which coincidentally I find is the least fun part of writing).

  2. susankarins Says:

    Love your new mantra! Have to keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

