What To Say

September 21, 2012

I’ve been struggling with this whole blogging thing lately. Here and at my author blog. I’ve been struggling with what to post on Twitter and what to not. What I should share, what I should keep in the space of “real life”. What I should keep in the space of my head only.

I’m not sure what brings on these moments of introspection. Change or the opposite? Procrastination or productivity? Too much coffee or not enough?

The thing is, I’m in a place where I don’t know exactly what to say. What people want to hear. What I want to have them hear.

I keep a list of authors I think do social media very well, and I keep a list of actions on social media that drive me up a wall. I thought this might help. In an analytical way it kind of does, but at the base of it all, it really doesn’t. Because I’m not going to mimic what author A does or do the opposite of what author B does, because that makes me someone who’s only being someone else or the opposite of someone else. It’s not…me.

So, as I’m weighing this and that, I’m curious… what are the types of things you want to read in blogs? On Twitter? Can you think of someone who does social media really well? Or even better, what are your social media pet peeves?

Nicole

5 Responses to “What To Say”

  1. mlfables Says:

    On twitter, the best things to post are links to things you think people might find interesting.

    I’m into writing and the self-publishing industry, so I tweet a lot about that.

    • nicolehelm Says:

      That’s interesting to me because if someone only posts links, I am unlikely to follow them. I was just thinking about that last night. I don’t really go to Twitter to read the Internet, if that makes sense.

      However, if someone posts a link with some commentary, that can change my view entirely.


  2. Well…you know I’ve backed off from social media for various reasons over the past few months. But when I was consuming it at a high rate, there were various people I enjoyed for various reasons. Some people do the whole virtual friendship thing so well that I miss them when we don’t interact, even though we haven’t met in person. Other people offer snippets of professional information that has value. And still other people provide me with a glimpse into a life I’m curious about. The people I enjoy the most seem to have picked (whether they were aware of the choice or not) one of those things to offer the social media public, and they went with it, building who they wanted to be around that strong point.

    My biggest pet peeve with social media is constant, blatant promotion. 🙂

    E

    • nicolehelm Says:

      Lately I find myself wondering how conscious people are of the persona they’re building.

      And it amazes me that everyone says constant, blatant promotion is obnoxious, but so many people STILL do it.

      The world baffles me. 🙂


      • Honestly, it could be a generational thing, too. Younger people are less worried about the persona they put forth. Of course, that’s a generalization, but it only stands to reason because to them the Internet isn’t this big, bad scary unknown–it’s all they’ve EVER known.

        Professional experience can have an impact too. My corporate positions influenced the way I see social media and how I interacted with it from the beginning. As I became more of a user for personal reasons, “branding” became a thought not so that I made strides in my job but so that I didn’t do anything that would reflect poorly on me or my family.

        It is a lot to think about.

        E

Leave a Reply

