Writing vs. Sleeping?

October 19, 2012

I’m a mother to two small children. If you’ve been there, you know the number one obsession during this time is sleep. When can I get it? How much? How deep? (Starting to sound dirty, but really, I’m just desperate for a little consecutive shut eye).

I’ve always been a night owl and a light sleeper. I was never into taking naps. I was not one of those people proclaiming to love sleep. I didn’t think much about it really.

The biggest argument in my brain these days though centers around sleep. How much do I need and how much does that take away from writing time. If both kids nap at the same time (praise be to the children overlords), do I get some much needed quiet writing time in, or do I give in to my exhausted brain and body and take a nap too?

Each day is a different answer because each day has different challenges. I want more writing time, but I also want to not break down because I simply can’t function anymore. And, next year (or the year after), when (if) both kids are on a normal sleeping pattern, I’m sure something else will crawl into the space of sleep, challenging my writing time for dominance.

What is your challenge? The number one thing that invades your writing time? How do you deal with it?

Nicole

3 Responses to “Writing vs. Sleeping?”

  1. mlfables Says:

    What is your challenge? The number one thing that invades your writing time? How do you deal with it?

    Most recently its been noise. I live in a built up part of the city, where there are constant building projects and drilling noise all around (not even double glazing windows can keep out the noise).

    The only way around it is to time my writing. I now wake up at 5:30am, just to get in around an hours quiet writing time, before all hell breaks loose outside.


    • I feel your pain. I live in an urban area with lots of road and construction noise, and it’s a distraction. On top of that, I live in an older home that we’ve been renovating for the last two years. There’s nowhere to hide! 🙂

      Elley

  2. nicolehelm Says:

    Oh, yeah, that would definitely try my patience. I can handle my kids noise, but I hate hearing noise outside the walls of my house. Very hard to concentrate,

Leave a Reply

