Writing Friends Keep Me Sane

October 24, 2012

My writing friends keep me sane. (Or they keep me comfortable with my sanity, which might be the bigger help.) There are moments in this business when I look at my reflection and I think why the heck am I doing this? The payoff is not guaranteed. In fact, it can be downright intangible. And I get satisfaction from the voices in my head only for so long. That’s when a writer friend steps in and feeds my soul with an irreverent conversation that doubles as a brainstorming session, or an email that demands I pick up my weepy-ass self and get on with writing. But the boost can come from nothing more than seeing their names in my email address book or list of Twitter followers. The point is, I know they’re there, waiting to commiserate with me about life with one foot planted in reality and the other locked in imagination.

If you’re a writer, you know that life isn’t always easy.

The other day, Tari wrote about her fulfilling experience as a member of OCCRWA. And I’m here to tell you that even if there isn’t a group as wonderful as Tari’s group near you, you can still connect with people who will keep you writing…and keep you sane. We all have stories to share, and I’m not talking about the fictional kind. I’m talking about ups and downs, highs and lows of being a writer who hopes and prays for publication.

Today, I hope you’ll share a bit of your journey with someone, somewhere. Who knows? Your words may be just what another writer needs to hear to keep going.

Elley

Leave a Reply

