So I Got a Real Job…No Really, I did!

October 29, 2012

Yep, that’s right. I got a real job. No, don’t snicker. This time I really did get a real job, full time, forty hours a week, as the manager of the little sewing store where I’ve been working part time, six to ten hours a week, off and on since March.

I started last week, so I haven’t touched my manuscript. Well, I did touch it. I put it in a tote bag to take to my out-of-town training last Thursday and Friday. The thought was that I would work on it when I was alone in the hotel…hahahahahaha…

So I haven’t actually touched my manuscript, and I’m pretty sure I won’t be touching it this week either. I’m working from 10:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. I have an employee drug test to do on my way to work this morning, some errands to run before I go to work tomorrow morning, because on Wednesday, I’ll fly out of LAX to Phoenix for some more training, and I won’t be back until late on Friday evening. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I won’t be doing any writing this week either.

But, I have a plan. I’m a morning person. I plan on getting up with my Hunky Hubby each morning at 5:30 a.m., making dinner in the crockpot, or putting it in the fridge ready for when I get home in the evening, and doing some chores. I’ll get to the mall at 8:00 or 8:30 in the morning, go to the Starbuck’s and write for an hour or two before work.

Then, I plan on eating the low Points Plus lunch that I packed myself in the morning and walking the mall for at least twenty minutes during my lunch break. No, I won’t be distracted by the shopping and stores…or See’s Chocolates.
Hey, stop that! I’m still here. I can hear you laughing!

Alright, it might be a little ambitious, but at least I have a plan right?
So any tips for juggling work, family, chores and still finding time for your dream? Any great slow cooker or make ahead recipes you’d like to share? I could use the help!

Tari

2 Responses to “So I Got a Real Job…No Really, I did!”

  1. nicolepyles Says:

    That’s a good idea to write in the morning! I work full time too and luckily I have a desk job and since I don’t have a computer at home, I’ve been writing at lunch when I can. 😉 Fingers crossed I actually do this on a regular basis. Things will get better once I have a computer!

    Congrats on the new job!! That’s awesome!!

  2. taristhread Says:

    Nicole, We’ll have to keep track of each other and make sure we’re both writing! And thank you for the congratulations!

Leave a Reply

