Embracing Change

January 2, 2013

2013. Am I the only one who thinks that number looks strange? Maybe it’s because this is the year I’ll turn 40 (in a couple weeks, actually). As a kid, I was so enamored with the date change each new year I would fill a wide-ruled notebook page with lists of years to come—just so I could see what it felt and looked like to write bigger, more outrageous numbers…like 2013. Certainly we’d be flying in space ships by then. (Don’t laugh. I grew up with Buck Rodgers and always mistook the title for Buck Rodgers in the 21st Century.) There are no space ships for common folk, travelling to intergalactic shopping malls, and I must say I’m okay with that. If I have yet to get up the courage to fly to Napa for wine tasting, I can’t imagine I’d fly to the next solar system for a pair of out-of-this-world boots.

LizzyThe grandiose aside, each new year brings changes. For me, the biggest change of 2013 came in the form of a Boston Terrier puppy, Lizzy. She’s a wonderful addition to the family, but the abrupt change in my schedule and loss of freedom brought me to tears a couple times. Change is hard. Very hard. But great rewards can come on the backside of change.

So without further delay…here it comes…the requisite discussion about 2013 writing goals…

For the first time in many years, I wrote down my life goals, five-year goals, one-year goals and daily goals. I’d done an informal version of this many years ago (twenty-year goals, ten-year goals, five-year goals). Looking back at that handwritten, tattered piece of paper was a lot of fun, especially with most of the goals long since accomplished. But life was different then, and even though I still have time left to achieve a couple remaining twenty-year goals, it’s time to start over again, reach higher, reignite the flame.

Change. Life is full of it. We can either embrace it and let it carry us downstream, or we can fight it and drown in the process. You’d think the choice would be easy, huh? But every now and then, my throat swells shut and I’m overwhelmed by all the changes ahead—some I can see, some I can’t, some I initiated, some that blindsided me. What sort of year will 2013 be? I don’t know for sure, but I have hopes and dreams and goals to keep me busy while I’m waiting for 2014.

Happy New Year!

Elley, who is very proud of herself for writing this blog post despite the puppy on her lap, and writing this blog post proves that despite the puppy she can accomplish her 1500 words/day writing goal

Leave a Reply

