I Only Wanted to Write a Book

January 30, 2013

Once upon a time, there was a girl who wanted to write a book. Many years later, she accomplished the feat. As she sat back and admired how far she’d come, a new story formed in her head, and so she wrote that too. More followed. For many years she was happy, writing story after story. Then she decided to get published…and all hell broke loose. LOL.

Sometimes it feels like that. Honestly. Writing was so simple when it was an intimate dance between me and my keyboard. Now, the intimate dance is more like a communal square dance with other partners moving in and out of the circle. It’s daunting when you think of all the people involved with publishing a book. Depending on the writer, there are agents, editors, publishers, critique partners, beta readers, blog mates, blog tour hosts, and publicity teams. Everybody can want something different from the same writer/book.

Of course, it’s part of the process, but it makes it hard to write sometimes—all those different voices in one head. She’s going to love this part, but she’s not, and what about her?

Once upon a time, I was writing to please myself. Now, I’m hoping to please everyone. It’s an impossible dream, isn’t it? 🙂

Elley

2 Responses to “I Only Wanted to Write a Book”

  1. Kate Says:

    Even if you ignore thoughts about agents, publishers and printing there’s the huge gap between ‘I want to write a book’ and ‘I want to write a good book’. I have no doubt in my ability to write a book, it’s the writing it well that I find so daunting.

    • Elley Says:

      So true, Kate! I can relate. The fear of not writing a good book cripples me at times.

      Anyone who thinks being a writer is easy is nuts. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

      Elley

Leave a Reply

