Journey to Published: Writing the Second Book

February 15, 2013

When I was doing revisions for Seven-Night Stand with my first editor, she asked if the hero’s brother had a story. (Answer: duh). But it wasn’t finished, so she asked I finish and submit it to her.

Cue: DOUBT.

I had never written anything for a specific editor before. Before, everything I wrote was mainly for me. Sure, I wrote to get published, but mainly I wrote characters I liked in places I liked with conflict I liked and didn’t think much of fitting a mold.

Writing a second book meant fitting a mold. It meant trying to avoid any of the mistakes I’d made in that first manuscript. It meant trying to impress this editor with my dazzling writing skills. I so badly wanted her to like it, to want to acquire it, that I kind of lost sight of something very important.

No manuscript is ever perfect. There will still be revisions and mistakes. That’s kind of what editors are for.

That’s not to say I could phone it in, but agonizing over every plot choice, every comma, every thing wasn’t very productive to getting the job done. At some point you have to trust yourself to write a good story, and trust your editor to see that good story beyond whatever mistakes you might want.

Because whether you agonize or don’t. Whether you stress or are completely zen about it, nothing can really control that outcome. Chances are, the second book will get accepted. And if it doesn’t? You’ve always got more books in you. Rejection isn’t the end of the world (or your career) no matter where in the publishing journey you are.

But that’s another post for another time.

Nicole

4 Responses to “Journey to Published: Writing the Second Book”

  1. Elley Says:

    Boy, can I relate to this one right now. πŸ™‚


  2. Nice description…my hands are sweating for you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

